Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-11-2002, 01:11 AM   #16
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

whats an IDE and a raid? :S
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 01:20 AM   #17
robinmthomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

IDE is a type of Hard Drive that referrs to the BUS/Transfer technolgoy - Hard Drives can be IDE or SCSI.

RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independant (or Inexpensive) Disk

RAID is basically 2 or more disk configured in a way so that Windows see ony 1 disk when there are multiple underlying disc that are configured so that the data is spread across all the disc so that if one disc fails you can recover the data.
robinmthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 01:20 AM   #18
robinmthomas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I should add:

I THINK "...that IDE refers to BUS/Transfer technolgoy"
robinmthomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 02:50 AM   #19
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by robinmthomas
Also - I have a 16MB TNT nVidia Video Card - Do you think that is the problem?
Yes, your primary (hehe, don't take it too seriously ) problem lies here. My old computer was below your system specs but it ran/runs Maya pretty smoothly with a geforce2 gts display adapter. If you don't want to upgrade the whole thing, I'd start with the display adapter...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 02:51 AM   #20
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

WinXP Pro
AMD Tbird 1.4GHz
768 RAM
GeForce 3 64RAM
70 Gig HD
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 04:17 PM   #21
TychoCelchuuu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PIII ~600MHz
288 SDRAM
Geforce 4 Ti4200 64Mb
A really, really bad mouse.
__________________
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
-Bilbo Baggins
TychoCelchuuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 05:21 PM   #22
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

2 x 1.8 duals
1 gig ram
crap gfx card
around 80 gig drive i guess..cant remember.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:41 AM   #23
philip - liquid.arts
Super Moderator
 
philip - liquid.arts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: germany, near frankfurt
Posts: 111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

2.53 GHz P4
1 GB RAM (waiting for another 512MB)
2x 80 GB RAID (striped)
Quadro 4 750 XGL

...can't complain really =)

that's the 3D Box, then there's a 1.4GHz Renderslave and an old P3 800 for web, office and stuff plus a Notebook currently occupied by my girlfriend : )
philip - liquid.arts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 08:48 PM   #24
BulletProof
Subscriber
 
BulletProof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SPEC

2 x Dual PIII 450 /512 MB RAM each
one FIRE GL1
another ELSA Synergie II (TNT2)

and works for my scenes....quite an old configuration, but I'm running out of money at the moment..

b u l l e t
BulletProof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 09:43 PM   #25
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Athlon XP1900+
512MB DDR RAM
GeForce3 Ti500
100GB HDD..

I like it but I'm waiting for the ClawHammers to come out

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 11:41 PM   #26
moocow
Registered User
 
moocow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston, USA
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dual PIII 1000MHz
1.5 GB RAM
FireGL 8800
4x SCSI-160 36.7GB (2 RAID 0, 2 RAID 1)

next upgrade, dual xeons w/2mb cache each :-)
__________________
Signatures are the opium of the masses.
moocow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2002, 06:39 PM   #27
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I run it on a P4 2.4
512 RDRam
GF Ti4600

works well.... very well...


and "704" MB Ram???????
might wanna round that up
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.