Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-01-2006, 09:07 PM   #1
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Lightsaber help

These are the latest versions of the lightsaber i'm working on. I'm rendering in final gather and for some reason am getting those weird shadow blotches on the floor. I have final gather set to 500 instead of 300 with a min radius of 0.3 and a max radius of 8, the floor itself is basically a normal blinn, with a little less reflectivity a high eccentricity with a high specular roll off and low specular color. The scene is HDRI lit so there are no lights in there other than one set at 0 intensity to stop the default lights So if someone could help me do away with those shadows it would be helpful. Also I'd like to smooth out the lightsaber because as you can see the round parts of the emitter and such are kind of jaggedy, however i like the middle peices (black peices) the way they are, so is there a way to smooth just peices of it and not the whole thing? C&C also welcome

cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 09:32 PM   #2
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

hi there...first off u may have a chance of your pictures been removed....640/480 sizes only.
now to make it more smooth u could maybe sect all the faces that are the area u want smooth then got to editpolys extract.Or use the split polytool to add more edges then pull thoses edges to create a rounder shape.
The blotches u talk about is called artifacts usually cause or not enough final gather rays in ure scene try using the distance tool and get your distance of the entire saber(example)
saber=19 so divide by 10=1.9 <Max radius
then divide 1.9 by 10 for min radius =0.19
and give you scene maybe 1000 rays. u know they can go up to even more than the 1024 from the slider u can put 90.000 if u wanted.
Hope this helps.
Oh and it looks pretty cool!!!
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 10:54 PM   #3
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried what you said and it's still happening
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 11:04 PM   #4
Turbo Dan
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make sure your hdir image is modified correctly in HDR shop, it appears to be not.
__________________
First year 3D Grad
Turbo Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2006, 11:11 PM   #5
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't have hdr shop, nor do i know what that means . i'm still very new to hdri, i just downloaded a free hdri sample.
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 02:59 AM   #6
Turbo Dan
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i guess its time to do some searches and read throug some tutorials and look at some threads
i learned from a tutorial at digital tutors but i dont think they have it for free anymore
__________________
First year 3D Grad
Turbo Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 04:27 AM   #7
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Any you can recommend?
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 05:11 AM   #8
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I took a look at an HDRI tutorial with HDR Shop, not sure if I did an appropriate one seeing as the floor is still ****ed up, but I think the saber itself is a major improvement


cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 06:51 AM   #9
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok one last update, I managed to get significantly lower those stupid blotches by raising my photons up from 500, to 4000. this takes 30 minutes to render, so is there to either A) fix this with less photons, or B) bake the photons or something so it doens't have to recalculate it each time?

cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 08:25 AM   #10
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

if u have a sky dome remove it and dont use photons then render.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 09:03 AM   #11
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i have a dome with the Hdri mapped to it, and the photons are part of hte final gather render.
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2006, 09:12 AM   #12
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

You made your own dome or is it one that automatically comes when u select Image based lighting?
take the photons off and ull have no artifacts... i think.
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2006, 05:33 AM   #13
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Uhm, as far as i learned to do this, I made a dome and then put a texture on it with the hdr in the ambiance, that's how i was taught how to do hdri.
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2006, 12:49 PM   #14
magicsy
Subscriber
 
magicsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

there is a option in mental ray to do it automatically.......
magicsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2006, 06:02 AM   #15
cptgame
Registered User
 
cptgame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default





Just an update on it.
cptgame is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.