Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-02-2006, 05:09 PM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 3D Paint Tool Problem

Hi all,

I have a frustrating problem with the 3D paint tool. Everytime, I use it, it paints both sides. I didn't turn "Reflection" on. And not only that, instead of painting a small spot, it splatter the entire model. You can see what I mean.

And even if I didn't check "projection", it does the same thing as reflection.

The Cyclops tutorial is great...but I just can't seem to control the 3D paint tool with Maya 7.

Help.
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2006, 05:11 PM   #2
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

pic.
Attached Thumbnails
 
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 07:37 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Dunno if this may be the problem but is one side instanced?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006, 10:09 PM   #4
Velusion
Registered User
 
Velusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've never used this tool but maybe if you lower the "stamp depth".. Maybe that setting tells Maya how deeply to project your paint into the model. You're model looks pretty small so maybe the stamp depth is set high enough to actually allow the paint to make it to the other side of the model.... Tell me if that works so I can remember it.
__________________
James Rogers
www.morphicmotion.com
Velusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM
where can i post info about 3D job openings? atadami Members Lounge 3 03-12-2010 10:51 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.