Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-02-2006, 04:53 PM   #1
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default Duplicating particles

I have created a nice particle group using an emitter ramps etc to get the desired result, I now want to duplicate this network and be able to assign it to another area of my scene, if i duplicate the emitter I dont get the particle emmissions, how can I copy these over??

Hope this makes some sense

Cheers
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2006, 05:06 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

when you dupe the emitter, delete the new particle object that comes with it.

In Window > Relationship Editors > Dynamic Relationships, you can assign your initial particle object to multiple emitters in your scene.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2006, 05:12 PM   #3
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cheers Mike, Never thought of that! Been trying to do it vai the hypershade and hypergraph.

Cheers!!
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2006, 11:01 PM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You could also try this. Disconnect your particle from all fields, emitters etc. Then export the particle only. Now you can import it to any scene and connect it to desired fields, emitters etc you wish using the relationship editor.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2006, 11:04 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cool Kbrown i'll remember that one
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.