Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-02-2006, 11:11 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Smoke render problem


I'm trying to make smoke to use it with an earthquacke that i'm building.

I'm using sprites and i've made a 100 smokelet tiff images, witch i'm cycling using expressions.
It looks good and I have no problems with it's behaviour.

My problem is with the rendering. When I render it with the batchrender engine the smoke
comes out jittery and staccato like, but when I render it using the hardware renderbuffer
engine it look nice.

Am I doing anything wrong when rendering the smoke?

Here is a link to the settings I use, and 2 Quicktime movies showing the different renders.

Thank You.
r303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2006, 11:33 AM   #2
kbrown's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

Did you do particle disk cache AND saved the scene before batch rendering? Saving the scene is important as the batch renderer might not know about the cache otherwise.

Did you use the sprite wizard or did you write the expressions yourself?
- My Website

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2006, 02:26 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thank you! It helped disk caching the particles.
r303 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.