Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-03-2006, 09:47 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SF
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default displaying textures issue

this is weird. i modeled a military tank and i created my texture for it in photoshop. i loaded my jpg texture file in maya as a blinn but it doesn't appear on my model when i press 6 . i have to have high quality rendering checked under shaded for me to see it. is there a limit on the texture for maya to display it? or could i have pressed a key do disable something in maya without even knowing it? my jpg texture file is 4096x4096. thanx in advance for any feedback.
artleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2006, 10:01 PM   #2
Registered User
Joopson's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

yep, thats the problem, its too big, but i believe if you render, it should showup
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 01:45 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default i am aware that this SHOULD be simple

hello. I know this isn't that related but u guys clearly know more than me. I have managed to import a photoshop file as a bmp into the hypershade texture library, but it doesn't appear in the standard maya texture bit that comes up when u add textures in the attribute editor. I've been trying for 3 hours now to apply this texture to a material. help me?
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2006, 02:43 PM   #4
Registered User
MattTheMan's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

dont save it as a bmp, but as a 24-bit TGA

and chill out- we are only trying to help
Live the life you love, love the life you live
MattTheMan is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.