Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-11-2002, 09:02 PM   #16
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Brian. I just created a directory on my C: drive called Maya_scripts, then executed it from the script editor. Finally got it to work.
__________________
Steven C.
sdch1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2002, 09:03 PM   #17
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Sweet. if you want to modify the intensity of the lights and stuff, you don't have to go thru that entire process again, just type GI_Joe in the command ling and the GUI pops up. Glad I could help
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2002, 09:53 PM   #18
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OMG! Thanks Brian!!! Where were you yesterday when I REALLY needed you?! LOL! You made it so easy to open! TY!!!
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2002, 04:51 PM   #19
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have no problems running the script, now have it on my shelf working properly. Here's the steps i took.

Copied GI_Joe.mel and GIJoe.lights into my scripts directory....

C:\Documents and Settings\user\My Documents\maya\4.0\scripts

Opened Gi_Joe in wordpad and changed the path to the lights...

C:/Documents and Settings/user/My Documents/maya/4.0/scripts/GIJoe.lights

Notice you have to change \ to / for the path.

Then saved.

I then loaded a scene in Maya.

Open the script editor and open the GI_Joe script.
In the command line type GI_Joe;
In the script editor, middle mouse drag the text i have highlighted onto the shelf, see below..

Then i just changed the icon. Works fine for me straight from the shelf.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2002, 05:13 PM   #20
Russell
Registered User
 
Russell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 370
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Mr. Macca! I need to copy and save your directions in the event I need to do all that again after I reformat my PC. I got my GI Joe to work but I get a Syntax Error occassionally but it doesn't really do anything bad to my scene file. Thanks again for your help!

- Russell
__________________
Russell Bolding
CEO/Founder - Russelltopia Studios
Web:http://www.russelltopia.com
Email:russbo@russelltopia.com
Russell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 06:10 AM   #21
tokutoshi
Registered User
 
tokutoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

could anyone tell me where line 57 is? i opened the script with notepad, spent around an hour and still didn`t see the specific string. is it in the top half or the buttom half of the script?
tokutoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 06:17 AM   #22
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It's very near the top. Just copy the string and paste into edit/find in Notepad. It'll take you straight there.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 04:45 PM   #23
tokutoshi
Registered User
 
tokutoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks mrmacca. I found that. Thanks for your help. I haven`t got time to play with it yet but when I press the "delete GI_Joe" button it said something like "the scriptJob cannot be killed". Is that normal?
tokutoshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 04:59 PM   #24
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

yeah, that happens for me too but it does seem to work ok.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2002, 05:52 PM   #25
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

welcome to SM tokutoshi.. :p
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2002, 01:21 PM   #26
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thanks for the How to. It explains it well.
Brian E
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.