Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 13-05-2006, 03:01 AM   #1
aero_pg
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do you make your project an image to post

i want to post something on this forum for help but i dont know how to create an image file from my maya project to post. i can only save file
aero_pg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2006, 04:59 AM   #2
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default posting images

1. go to this link and grab the fastasicle mental ray template that Tiddles sent me (ii is in the first couple of posts).

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...threadid=21475

2. import it into your scene and follow the instructions in the post that has the template. It's pretty strait forward but you need to know a tiny bit about rendering. Be sure to set the render output format to something other then .iff (I usually pick Targa).

3. The result will be in the image folder or the mentalray/image folder depending on your version of Maya.

4. Bring that image into photoshop or some similar package like photpaint and resave it for the web (usually in jpg or ping format)

5. then just go to the forum you want and in the attach file section of the message area browse to the COMPRESSED image file (Please don't upload a raw output). I try to go with 640x480 res images. I'll go 1024x768 on renders that I want to show more detail in.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Rick M
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2006, 03:25 AM   #3
aero_pg
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i went to the link u gave me and the link IN that link doesnt take you anywhere to learn how to do that. someone please show me instructions.
aero_pg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 01:22 PM   #4
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well the easiest way for me is maybe the long way ..I just hit

open what you want to take a picture of ..click mouse to make sure that window is selected

then use the keyboard keys -- alt + print screen

then go to start and run
type in mspaint
hit okay

then i hit the ctrl + V button, on the keyboard , and it puts your picture there in mspaint. then i hit the dotted square box and use the mouse to make a box around the image

then i go inside the little dotted box, put the little dot box around things you want in the picture , i made and left mouse click and pick copy

then i go to file and new and it opens new box
then i just hit ctrl and V, on the keyboard ...it paste it
then i just go to file and save and i give it a name and then make sure it says save as .jpg.

that is just one of many ways ...to just take a pic real quick too post

you can also render a pic but that is alittle more complicated ..hope this helps .confused just let me know. this way can be use to just get point across i use this method ... unitil i am totally finished with project then i do what is listed above or a few other methods

Last edited by mmoore5553 : 16-05-2006 at 01:27 PM.
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 02:44 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Just render a picture at 640 X 480 using the default render set up, for a quick fix
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 02:50 PM   #6
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well not sure if he knows how to render so that might need to be explained ..since he is new and asking help on another post on the dragon tutorial, having issues on showing where he is having issues

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=21402


this one is where i think he is having showing a picture issues

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=21499


above process i showed can get a picture posted of your issue if that is what you are trying to do

Last edited by mmoore5553 : 16-05-2006 at 02:59 PM.
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 02:55 PM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Ahh....
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 11:40 PM   #8
tiddles
Registered User
 
tiddles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What I do...

Another way that works for me is to open the render view (WINDOW - RENDERING EDITORS - RENDER VIEW).

Now in the RENDER menu - select RENDER - PERSP (to render the perspective view)

The resulting image will be a 600x480 software rendered scene. If you are using the mentalray template I posted ( http://dhost.info/tiddles/mentalray.zip ), then you can change the rendering type from Maya Software to mental ray.

Note: depending on your PC & and the complexity of your scene, the mental ray image can take a while to generate. I have had single mentalray frames that took over 10 mins & thats with a 3.2gig P4 with 1.5gig ram.

Now, to save this for web posting go to FILE - SAVE IMAGE and select JPEG as the file type. You should now have a .jpg under 100KB which is ideal for this forum.

Hope this helps...
tiddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2006, 01:21 AM   #9
aero_pg
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks i got it. its easier doing alt print screen. thanks a lot
aero_pg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2006, 03:35 AM   #10
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

no problem ..it usually is ...glad you got it ..also i wrote what i thought on your dragon so far ..keep it up and would love to see it ...
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Mec Celeste - Original SM Gallery Image by Diego Ruiz Diaz Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 22-12-2010 05:58 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.