Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-11-2002, 11:09 PM   #1
VAMP1Re
Registered User
 
VAMP1Re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default im missing a step in head modeling

im doing the head tutorial located here

http://www.thehobbitguy.com/tutorial...ing/page01.htm

I have the pictures set up on the planes and i have just seleted them both and created a layer.

im stuck here :

"then assign the 2 planes to a layer. Assigning them to a layer will allow you to do 2 things...

1.) it will allow you to reference the planes so that you don't accidentally select them while you are modeling

2.) it will allow you to make them visible and invisible at the click of a button.


Once you have all that out of the way, you are ready to start modeling.

Using your create polygon tool (located under polygons>create polygon tool), draw a silhouette outline of your picture in the side view

(i try this but i get an error saying "Warning: Select an object that allows topology modification."

Im guessing its trying to select the side view what do i do? damn my newbieness

cheers
Vamps
__________________
VAMP1Re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2002, 11:18 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

To assign something to a layer, select the object(s) and right click on the layer. Choose "Add Selected Objects."

Beside the layer name are three boxes. If you click the first one, it will toggle On/Off the visibility of that layer. The second one will toggle between Reference (R), Template (T), and normal (blank). You'll want to toggle it to Reference. This makes the layer visible, but unable to be selected.

Template makes the layer "invisible" with an outline.

Nothing to it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2002, 11:21 PM   #3
VAMP1Re
Registered User
 
VAMP1Re's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

EDIT me = very newbie..i was tyring to do it in the perspective view... / stupidity
__________________
VAMP1Re is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 05:31 AM   #4
wtbmok
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mtmckinley View Post
To assign something to a layer, select the object(s) and right click on the layer. Choose "Add Selected Objects."

Beside the layer name are three boxes. If you click the first one, it will toggle On/Off the visibility of that layer. The second one will toggle between Reference (R), Template (T), and normal (blank). You'll want to toggle it to Reference. This makes the layer visible, but unable to be selected.

Template makes the layer "invisible" with an outline.

Nothing to it.
worked like a charm after hours of running in a maze!
wtbmok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Female Head, Marlon John marlonjohn Work In Progress 18 13-01-2011 08:44 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.