Welcome to SimplyMaya

SimplyMaya.com has been teaching Maya for eleven years. We believe in teaching the fundamental principles of 3D by example. In our online library you will find more than 500 hours of video training.
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-05-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face rotate around 1 object

Hi I 'm working in a rather big sene for the moment..
it here an option to rotate onely around the one object o selected? I knowyou can do that in max.. but i didn't found it in maya yet..

plzz help me :hug:
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 01:58 PM   #2
esion
Registered User
 
esion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you mean rotate the camera around a select object? or do you mean rotate another object around a selected object?
esion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 02:04 PM   #3
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: rotate around 1 object

the camera around an object...
I'm working on a huge stage.. that i didn't make and layers and objects aren't named

but if i rotate my camera// vieuw arond a object located at -1500 it is a hell of a job to get the the right spot

Or is there a simple solution to center the compleet sene?

Me = a Noob :p
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 02:14 PM   #4
esion
Registered User
 
esion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well once an object is selected you can press 'f' and it frames the selected object, or go select all then press 'f' to center the whole scene. Then you can rotate and move the camera around from there...but I personally dont know any way of locking a camera around an object (well I do know 1 way, but it would be a nightmare for quick changing on objects).

My suggestion would be to just sit down and start naming the objects, group objects, make layers, and organize the scene. It will make your life so much easier when working on something huge like a set.
esion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 02:24 PM   #5
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

prest the f butten ..
ant it is all lost in the gray fog of maya :p
now i have to search it all again :d
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 02:29 PM   #6
moachalmers
Registered User
 
moachalmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you select the object and then click on the center box of the compass, it is going to zoom on that object and make that the center of rotation for your camera.
__________________
<a href="http://www.graniteschools.org/ss/gti/MainPage/FinalPages/ChalmersMain.html">GTI 3D Animation Lab
moachalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 02:34 PM   #7
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nop gives me almost a crash :d

Think the image is way to big...
:headbang: to much curves

I'm not half way lofting the curvs.. and i already have 141 lofts

And this on a way to large scal..



edit : now it works :angery:

Last edited by vlargon : 22-05-2006 at 02:57 PM.
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 03:33 PM   #8
esion
Registered User
 
esion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 255
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If it is almost crashing maya, I would definelty suggest grouping and layering, so you can turn invis everything but what you are working on.

Oh and if its big make sure you are working in wireframe (aka press '4') otherwise you slow things way down when it gets really complex.
esion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2006, 04:44 PM   #9
blackstrings
Registered User
 
blackstrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Sates
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think this might solve your solution.

Under your perspective window or viewing window go to > view > camera tools > tumble tools option > then use the option attributes there...check the box "tumble on object" on/off. you can also control the rate at which your mouse affects the camera rotation speed...

hope it helps
__________________
9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs
blackstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 07:44 AM   #10
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That works great !!
thx for all the help :p
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 06:10 PM   #11
blackstrings
Registered User
 
blackstrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Sates
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hp, glad it helped ^^
__________________
9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs
blackstrings is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2014 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.