Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-05-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
mi-81
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy I can't import .obj in 3dStudio Max

Hi!
I don't know how to import maya files in 3DStudio Max. I activated the plug-ins in the two programs, but I don't know what I am doing bad...

Could you help me???????
mi-81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 09:28 AM   #2
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I can't import .obj in 3dStudio Max

I have the same if i work with NURBS .. i have no problem with polygons..
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 09:37 AM   #3
mi-81
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes. I am working with nurbs!!
What can we do????How can we import in 3DStudio Max????????
mi-81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 09:38 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Try converting into polygons?? That might be why?
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 10:02 AM   #5
mi-81
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy

Hi!
I am new with Maya, so I don't know so much...How can I convert to polygons? It's a big drawing, with many different surfaces, lines....

How can i export to 3dstudio????
mi-81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 10:17 AM   #6
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

do like me..

coverte pies by pies..
( modify => covert => NURBS to polygons)

play with the options to get the right result...

hell of a job.. mut it must be don :d
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 10:20 AM   #7
mi-81
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks! I will try it!
mi-81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 11:20 AM   #8
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good luck
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2006, 03:04 PM   #9
vlargon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ghent, BelgiumBelgium, Ghent
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not sure but take kare when you merge veritexen
that can screw the compleet sene.. ..
damn.. i have to restart
vlargon is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.