Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-06-2006, 02:56 PM   #1
fowadkhan
Registered User
 
fowadkhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: pakistan
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy virtual interactive walkthrough....

hai there..!!! hope u all doing fine..!!! i just wanna know about the virtual interactive walkthrough of any architectural premises,example...

"let say if i have made a complete model of commerical appartment with lights,texture everything and i want my client to have an ease to move around in and outside the building,so that he can move in with a mouse and see any thing he wants to,in that 3d model...."

can any one guide me in this !!.....
it would be an immense favour to me...!!!!
ill be looking forward for the reply....plzz its urgent..!!!

[email]fowadkhan@hotmail.com
fowadkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2006, 03:02 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Could try converting it to VRML via the plug in.

Your client would need a plug in for the bowser (e.g. Cortona, from parallell graphics, plus its free) but it should work, tey it our yourself though to see if its what your after
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2006, 03:07 PM   #3
mmoore5553
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

vrml and plug in ?
mmoore5553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2006, 03:16 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Yup Maya 6 has a VRML converter so that you can take your scene and make into a VRML file, its in the plug in manager, you export it using the file export option. thers options to keep textures, animations etc.

Oh VRML is Virtual Reality Modeling Language and uses coding like HTML etc so if you wanted you can create 3d worlds (not very good quality) using notepad.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2006, 12:15 PM   #5
Maya_Student
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm very interested in this too..

But will it then be possible to let someone walk trought it or something? How does it work? Doe you export it, and then dubble click on the exported file and then you can move around? Also can you move trough geometry etc.?

Thanks in forward!
Maya_Student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2006, 03:23 PM   #6
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

hello,
i have been woking on somthing like this and i have been using the Shockwave 3d plugin for Director. it is very easy to set up and you can do most of it in maya. the only problem is that the graphics arnet that good
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2006, 03:25 PM   #7
Maya_Student
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, Cool.. Could you show some screenshots of how it looks? And with this exporter, you can walk trough the scene? How exactly does it work?

THanks
Maya_Student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2006, 06:14 AM   #8
Some Guy
Subscriber
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wagga Wagga, Australia
Posts: 1,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

well, if you have your model you can use the shockwave 3d exporter that comes with maya of you can download it for free from the alias website. if it comes up with any errors you fix them in maya and then you can bring the w3d file that is created into Macromedia director. making the camera walk around is done throgh lingo scripting.

srry i cant get any screenshots at the moment.
__________________
"If Less is more then think how much more more would be..."


Winner June 2009 Spaceship Challenge
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.