Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-07-2006, 05:24 PM   #1
knight2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Cartoon Dog Tutorial help

Hello everyone. I'm new to Maya and I need a little help. I'm following the Cartoon Dog tutorial and everything has been going great until it came time to convert my dog model to polygons. The problem I'm having is when I try to "Union" two polygons together. Its strange, when I select both polygons and go to "Booleans" and I select "Union" both polygons disappear, can anyone help me out , I pulling my hair out.lol.
knight2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to knight2000 For This Useful Post:
Joyce Cantrell (11-06-2013)
Old 10-07-2006, 05:48 PM   #2
TomerM
Registered User
 
TomerM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can you do a work-around withotu using the boolean?
I allmost never use it, its just very un-stable in my opinion.
TomerM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 06:05 PM   #3
knight2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well, I've just started using Maya, so I'm just going by the tutorial. I have my dog model finished through the nurbs, is it nessassary to convert to polygons? What do think would be the best way to go?
knight2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 06:18 PM   #4
Furry Fury
Registered User
 
Furry Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes it is, that way u can use booleans to combine, the edges, trust me it seems strange but its really the right thing to do, the nu can use merge vertcies to clean it up, to make it look soooth again you will change it to subdivs, and it will look alot better, just do it, he knows what he s doing
__________________
Furry Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 06:22 PM   #5
Mads_Anthony
Registered User
 
Mads_Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will sugest that you just use the combine poly tool.

Select the two Polygons and go into Polygon > Combine. After that you just merge the vertex. (Edit Polygon > Merge Vertices)

Hope that help.
__________________
Its rice, Its nice.
Mads_Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 06:24 PM   #6
Mads_Anthony
Registered User
 
Mads_Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Errrm... and if you get any problems again post it in the "Maya Basics & Newbie Forum"
__________________
Its rice, Its nice.
Mads_Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 06:27 PM   #7
knight2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks Guys, I'll do it.
knight2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 11:29 PM   #8
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

normally, when poly's disappear...it means there's a problem with your normals, or they're not intersecting all the way.

Make sure the two pieces are intersecting completely and there are no gaps between them. Booleans will not work if they don't intersect.

To check normals, go to Display->Polygon Components->Normals
All normals should be pointing in the same direction for each piece (outwards)
If one or both pieces are not pointing correctly, select the piece, and go to Edit Polygons->Normals->Reverse to reverse them so they're pointing outwards.

Once both pieces have their normals pointing outwards, booleans should work fine.
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 04:53 AM   #9
knight2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the response, that help a lot. I'll do that.
knight2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 05:40 PM   #10
traindog
Subscriber
 
traindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seoul, Korea.
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah i would just check that the two peices are properly connecting all the way before you boolean...It happened to me before....
traindog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 10:28 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.