Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-11-2002, 01:52 AM   #1
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question Hardware

do we have any hardware specilists in the house? i have a few hardware problems about buying a new computer which i need help with

firstly tho, what would be ur ideal system? i know this has been posted b4, but its allll leading into my endless questions and please dnt go too far over the top, a little insanity is ok
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 01:56 AM   #2
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

These are a minimum requirements:

A pentium IV 2 gig and above
min 512 Ram (DDR or RD) no SD!!!! - i prefer RD
at GF4 Ti4200
60 gig harddrive
A writer
A DVD
a 2.1 surround sound system
17" monitor
A future proof and upgreadable motherboard


The Ideal system would be:
A 2.53 Gig system
768 RDRam
A GF4 Ti4600 128megs
80 Gig Harddrive
A writer
A DVD
A 19" monitor
A 4.1 surround ystem
A future proof system... 533 fsb, etc etc

The perfect Maya box would be:
A dual Xeon 2.4
1 GIG RdRam PC1066
A Quadro 4 XGL graphics card
140 Gig Harddrive
A 19" monitor
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:

Last edited by tariqrf : 21-11-2002 at 02:00 AM.
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:07 AM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tariqrf
These are a minimum requirements:

A pentium IV 2 gig and above
min 512 Ram (DDR or RD) no SD!!!! - i prefer RD
at GF4 Ti4200
60 gig harddrive
A writer
A DVD
a 2.1 surround sound system
17" monitor
A future proof and upgreadable motherboard


The Ideal system would be:
A 2.53 Gig system
768 RDRam
A GF4 Ti4600 128megs
80 Gig Harddrive
A writer
A DVD
A 19" monitor
A 4.1 surround ystem
A future proof system... 533 fsb, etc etc

The perfect Maya box would be:
A dual Xeon 2.4
1 GIG RdRam PC1066
A Quadro 4 XGL graphics card
140 Gig Harddrive
A 19" monitor
You´ve got to be kidding me ...
-S-
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:10 AM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

hahahaha...... what do you mean kidding me... is it coz' you've got a 950, 128megs of ram??????

i meant for a serious 3d modeller.. who needs performance
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:11 AM   #5
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

adl, ever thought of upgrading??. hehe
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:12 AM   #6
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tariqrf
i meant for a serious 3d modeller.. who needs performance
I´m not even answering ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:13 AM   #7
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

hehe
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:18 AM   #8
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

19" monitors may be alright, but I love my 21". lol
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:19 AM   #9
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
19" monitors may be alright, but I love my 21". lol
but 21"'s are too expensive
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:22 AM   #10
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tariqrf
but 21"'s are too expensive
Only the monitors? Check that list again ...
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:24 AM   #11
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

adl, i just posted my opinion on the best system....
21" are expensive compared to 19"

19" are already too big.
but 950's are not big
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:25 AM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

looks like ive been looking at buying the ULTIMATE maya box then if thats the perfect specs lol

i was lookin at:
dual 2.0ghx xeons (do they still sell xeons? someone told me they stopped)
gf2 ti4600 (didnt want to go with a quadro because i play games as well, and a 4600 has dual monitor output)
19" monitor, and a smaller 14" lcd flat panel
4 sticks of 256RDram pc800

will a ti4600 fit in a dual xeon motherboard?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:27 AM   #13
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Nem
looks like ive been looking at buying the ULTIMATE maya box then if thats the perfect specs lol

i was lookin at:
dual 2.0ghx xeons (do they still sell xeons? someone told me they stopped)
gf2 ti4600 (didnt want to go with a quadro because i play games as well, and a 4600 has dual monitor output)
19" monitor, and a smaller 14" lcd flat panel
4 sticks of 256RDram pc800

will a ti4600 fit in a dual xeon motherboard?
why not???? Ti4600's are compatible with all agp 4x motherboards.... and about the xeon production stopping thing... the guy has a loud mouth!!!. lol
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:41 AM   #14
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

its just the motherbord is agp 4x, but i read on the nvidia site that a ti4600 is agp 8x? i know nothing about hardware at all
and this guy about xeons, i did kinda believe him cos he knows quite a bit about computers, and i havent seen any shops, internet or highstreet that sell xeons, or even talk about them?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2002, 02:53 AM   #15
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hey dude, I mean, I do know you´ve got an opinion and as such I´ve got to respect it. Truth to be told I would love to get me a 4000$ workstation (anybody wants to buy me a 3dboxx?). However I´ve been working/studying about two years now on my HP Pavilion, and I was stunned at the minimum requirements you´re actually asking for here. I mean dude, did you know that just by inserting a GeForce TI4600, 3d performance in my computer would be boosted to 1335%, I mean, I certainly like to follow trends, see where everyone´s going and stuff .. but I do remember to keep my feet here, on Planet Earth.

-and lastly, I know this post might be a certainly almost offensive one, so I apologize to my fellow moderators, and I´ll try to avoid these for a while (at least till the next PP) -

**EDIT**: Looks like while I was fixing me something to drink the thread advanced a bit, so please ignore this post and keep on with conversation.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.