Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 22-07-2006, 10:16 PM   #1
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Maya 7 PLE and Motionbuilder 7 PLE

Did you guys know the two are integrated? you can export from maya to motionbuilder and viceversa. It's pretty cool. I"ve been messing around with motionbuilder a bit.
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 03:51 AM   #2
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

maya is already a great animating s/w right? so.. how can motion builder exactly enhance ur animation works?
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 04:11 AM   #3
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

motionbuilder is real-time animation...with maya it slows down a lot when it has to calculate each keyframe, geometry, and everything else...motionbuilder is so smooth, it's amazing...aaaaaaaaaand...you can keyframe on layers to make things easier...i've been checking out a few of the features and they're really cool...it's also got full body IK, which i thing maya 7 has in some capacity, but i'm not sure...it's at least worth looking into as you can simulate a real production pipeline

plus...maya isnt just for animation while motionbuilder is...which means it's much more robust than maya when it comes to animation
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 08:10 AM   #4
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol
:attn:
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 11:20 AM   #5
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can i export my works from maya unlimited to motionbuilder PLE cause i wanna try that one out lol. I already uninstalled maya PLE a month ago cause i bought unlimited lol and so i dont have my PLE works nemore

__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 12:51 PM   #6
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Yes,

I belive you can, but again you are restricted with what you can do as its a non commercial licence.

Go the the Alias website and sign up for Bronze Membership, they have great tutes and bronze membership is free and they cover exporting from Maya to Motionbuilder. This is done by the FBX convertor. I think there is one available for Maya 7 PLE
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 05:37 PM   #7
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

go to 3dBuzz.com too...they have free video tutorials for Motionbuilder...covers importing/exporting to and from Maya, keyframing on layers, characterizing, user interface and customization, etc...good tutorials.
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 05:39 PM   #8
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it should be noted, however...you can import maya files into the PLE...but you can only export the maya 7 PLE file format...you can reread it in your Maya if it's not PLE. But you can keyframe and render animations on in Motionbuilder.
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 02:52 AM   #9
relikz
Registered User
 
relikz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by errethakbe
it should be noted, however...you can import maya files into the PLE...but you can only export the maya 7 PLE file format...you can reread it in your Maya if it's not PLE. But you can keyframe and render animations on in Motionbuilder.
lol sa i can't try out motionbuilder since i'm not using PLE... and isn't it illegal to transfer files from Unlimited to PLE or vice versa?
__________________
~The Computer Is A Moron~
relikz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2006, 03:14 AM   #10
errethakbe
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

no, you can use it.
you can't export back to the full version, however. you can import the full version file format.
So you can export to motionbuilder PLE from your maya, you just cant export back to your version of maya. Only the PLE maya.
errethakbe is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.