Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 04-08-2006, 04:11 PM   #1
brendog27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Downloading Models

I like to download some of the free models off of this site, maybe for animations, but usually just to see how they're made. My big problem is, a lot of the models wont download-- when I click the download link, a HUGE page of code comes up and I don't know what to do with it. I tried entering it into the MEL script editor (I'm sure that is a really dumb thing to do, but oh well), but nothing happened. WHAT DO I DO WITH ALL THIS CODE!?!?!?!?! :eek3: :mg:
brendog27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 04:21 PM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i think maybe those are .ma files, and maybe your settings on your computer open .ma with a word editor [notepad or wordpad] so your browser automatically lunches that so u see the ascii .ma file.
u can rightclick and save as instead, then open that file in maya.

---
unless its something else?
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 05:12 PM   #3
brendog27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm a complete newbie, so I can't be sure, but I don't think that's it. I tried saving it to my desktop, and I changed the .extension to .mp. The file opened in maya, but the scene is blank, and it says "unrecognized file type". If these three things make any difference, then this might hint as to the solution:

I use an iMac
I use the free demo version of Maya 7 PLE
This only happens on some of the models I try to download.

I hope to get the full version when my wallet is a little fatter, since the demo renders suck and there's this little layer over every render saying "Alias Maya 7 PLE" Thanks for the suggestion, anyway.
brendog27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:25 PM   #4
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

well your extension should be .ma or .mb...

maya ple uses a different extension that's exclusive to the program, but can open regular maya's files as well.

so try .ma, and if that doesn't work, try .mb

if that doesn't work either, ummm... no clue.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:32 PM   #5
brendog27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, maya PLE uses .mp.... anyway, after your post I attempted both .ma, .mb, and .mp once again. SThe strange thing here was that it says " files created in maya cannot be opened in maya ple". This is not true, because I'v downloaded .ma / .mb files off of this site and they worked. Thanks for the idea, but it looks like it's a little more complicated than the file format. I don't know how, but maybe it could be they way it was uploaded? Anyways, thx for you interest and suggestions, I've almost got it to work, but not quite.
brendog27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:36 PM   #6
brendog27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oooh, Sh**. I was just playying around with the extensions on one of the projects I created, and I got this message:

"Maya Personal Learning Edition is unable to save Maya Ascii and Maya Binary files. However, Maya Personal Learning Edition may save [project].mp as an .mb or .ma file instead."

If Maya PLE can't SAVE as ascii then maybe it cannot read thm either. PLEASE TELL ME THIS ISN'T TRUE!
brendog27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:38 PM   #7
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

there might also be the possibility that the file you're trying to download is a .rar or a .zip and needs extracted first. i have yet to download a model from the site so i don't know what format they usually come in...

so just as another possibility you could always try changing the extension to one of those two and see if you can extract it.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.