Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-08-2006, 02:15 AM   #1
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help with hardening edges

Hi all

Working on my current project (a 1966 Corvette), I'm starting to split panels out and harden up the edges. I'm hitting and issue where a smooth pulls a vertex in such a way that it messes up the mesh:

PreSmooth ...
Attached Thumbnails
 
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 02:16 AM   #2
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PostSmooth ...

Note the messy corner in the red circle. The vertex near the yellow x is too far left.
Attached Thumbnails
 
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 02:18 AM   #3
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PostSmoothCloseUp ...

I'd like to avoid subdividing the surrounding mesh as it has undesirable follow on effects to the rest of the model.

Any ideas folks?

Ta

MrR
Attached Thumbnails
 
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 03:22 AM   #4
3danimationmaya
Registered User
 
3danimationmaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi .I had the same problem. you take very hard way. the easy way convert your object to sub-D and than there work on edges with patial crease edges/
convert the object to sub-d
select the edge that you want(hard edge)
in the menu sub-d click on prtial crease edge 1 or 2(more harder)
or full crease (that is very hard edge like table or knife edge)

just try it is very easy and simple if you not happy with edge you can uncrease edge in the menu(undo)

after you finished you can convert the sub-d to oplygon again. but when you convert the sub-d to poly you have to be carreful.need some changing in the option tesselation method: vertice and the level should be 1 or 2 that is the best way return to poly. but sub-d has great view in render. good luck
__________________
:bow:
3danimationmaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 04:48 AM   #5
MrR
Subscriber
 
MrR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by 3danimationmaya
hi .I had the same problem. you take very hard way. the easy way convert your object to sub-D and than there work on edges with patial crease edges/
convert the object to sub-d
select the edge that you want(hard edge)
in the menu sub-d click on prtial crease edge 1 or 2(more harder)
or full crease (that is very hard edge like table or knife edge)

just try it is very easy and simple if you not happy with edge you can uncrease edge in the menu(undo)

after you finished you can convert the sub-d to oplygon again. but when you convert the sub-d to poly you have to be carreful.need some changing in the option tesselation method: vertice and the level should be 1 or 2 that is the best way return to poly. but sub-d has great view in render. good luck
Thanks for that but I don't want to use sub-d's. The edge won't be as sharp as I can get it with nice close loops.
MrR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2006, 12:45 AM   #6
prl907
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i see the problem you are getting . i agree with 3danimationmaya, that is the way i usally built my cars. first i block it out in poly and then convert to subdivisions. it works pretty well and when it is in the subdiv mode you can add creases to it. then from there you convert it back to poly with the options set on adaptive.
prl907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2006, 12:51 AM   #7
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

you using Maya 7 or later?..
if so there is an option called Poly crease tool, which is very nice for a poly smooth object.. you can select teh edges on your base mesh, and increase or decrease the hardness of the edge...

If not, then i'd have to go along with the earlier suggestion
G
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.