Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-08-2006, 04:55 PM   #1
blackstrings
Registered User
 
blackstrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Sates
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default glow effect rendering problem

K i wanted to create some particles/objects that has glow effects and render it seperately to use it and overlap it over another video through alpha channels.

So i made a cube and gave it a 1 glow effect intensity and render it as a .mov format file with the default black background along with a little rotating animation.

When I over layer this animated-rotating cube over another video for test, it works fines, but the glow effect (that is suppose to show outside of the cube) will not show outside of the cube, only within the cube.

So I'm wondering if it is possible to make the glow effect show outside of the object/particles and have it's own transparency through alpha channels when you composite or over layer it over another video. So you can still see the background video along with the glow effect transparency showing outside of the object/particle as well....If so, how can I do it?

thanks
__________________
9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs

Last edited by blackstrings : 21-08-2006 at 05:00 PM.
blackstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2006, 05:41 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I don't fully understand what you need to achieve. Can you post a pic of what you have so far? And are you rendering your particles as a .mov? you should be rendering to tiff or tga for proper alpha channels.


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 10:19 PM   #3
blackstrings
Registered User
 
blackstrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Sates
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh thx, i keep that in mind, tiff and tga for particles got it...

but here's an example of what i mean, where the glow effect didn't work the way I wanted it to. I uploaded it in youtube

go here "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwRfmQwHUjM"



Notice, that At the bottom right is a little rotating Icon thingy that was suppose to glow, but the glow doesn't show, the glow can only be seen within the cube. Out side and aruond the cube is suppose to be a red glowing effect, but Outside of the cube the glow isn't showing or somehow is being cut off.

So i was wondering how I could go about to fix it so that the glow outside the cube can be seen and at the same time have a lilttle transparency in it. (cause glowing lights do have a little transparency)

So is it possible to render particles/objects with glow effects and have the glow be transparent even when it is being overlay ontop another video another video?

So i was wondering how I could go about to render something like that.

thank you
__________________
9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs
blackstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2006, 11:52 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

no, tiff and tga for everything

If you want transparency in your glow then just make sure it has the transparency when you render it. Look at the alpha channel it should be white where it's opaque and black where it's transparent. So the glow should be tones of grey.

In order to get the glow around the cube you just need to make sure that the image you render is laid on top of the other one. It's as simple as that. What are you using to put it together?


A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 08:20 AM   #5
blackstrings
Registered User
 
blackstrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Sates
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using final cut pro, but I also have affter effect too, which one would be better?
__________________
9 months into Maya...and still learning...
0 experience with any other 3D programs
blackstrings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 09:07 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

after effects

A
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
Stepping effect in fluid gubar Dynamics & Special Effects 2 03-12-2010 10:42 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.