Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 24-08-2006, 09:53 AM   #1
cut_the_krab
Subscriber
 
cut_the_krab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Importing 3ds mesh into maya 8

Friend of mine made a model in 3dsmax and I want to import this into M8. What plugin do I need and where can I find it? How to install (Mac!)

thx
M.
some 3D I composited last months.

http://files.czar.be/simply_maya

crits and comments always welcome
__________________
too_tough_to_die@mac.com (AIM)
Always up for a chat !

Last edited by cut_the_krab : 24-08-2006 at 10:11 PM.
cut_the_krab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 09:59 AM   #2
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

you would have to export from Max as an *.obj, then in Maya go to Windows>Settings/Preferences>Plug-in Manager, then scroll down the list until you see OBJImport and tick the two boxes. Now you can import the model into Maya.
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2006, 10:25 PM   #3
cut_the_krab
Subscriber
 
cut_the_krab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Holland
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question So...

ok
but that would implicate that my friend has to re-export the files (or rather the meshes) like *.obj?
So are you saying that there is in NO way a possibility to import a *.3ds file into Maya? I would prefer to go about that way, eventhough it makes my search for the plugin longer. He gave me some old models he did, but there like 30+. I don't think he'll want to re-export that. Am I stuck if he doen't want to do that?


thx
M.
some 3D I composited last months.

http://files.czar.be/simply_maya

crits and comments always welcome
__________________
too_tough_to_die@mac.com (AIM)
Always up for a chat !
cut_the_krab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2006, 04:35 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Isnt that one of the new features of maya 8? Being able to import and export as an autodesk file type (dont know the name) that 3ds Max uses??

Have a look at the release n otes on autodesks site for the file type that they can use, it will save you exporting each object sepperatly as an obj file.
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2006, 05:26 AM   #5
oldhippie_tom
Subscriber
 
oldhippie_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I am not sure if this will help. I import 3Ds files all of the time from Total Texture files on there disk of wheels, brake disks, rotors, gauges, and the like. I use Maya 7's Bonus tools which has 3DS import. When you load it go to WINDOW - SETTINGS/PREFERENCES - PLUG-IN MANAGER and at the bottom (shown in picture) you can lead 3dsimport.mll. Then you can go to IMPORT OPTIONS and in the pulldown window set it to import 3ds. One thing though I have noticed about importing 3DS files is they just kill Maya because of the size it imports the file. It will be VERY LARGE.

Hope that helps.
Attached Thumbnails
 
oldhippie_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 09:56 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.