Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-11-2002, 03:57 PM   #1
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HUGE file size

Has anyone had problems with particular files that are large for no apparent reason. I have a file with one character and it is 94 megs. I have another file with a similar character that is only 8 megs. I have run the file through Norton and it comes up clean. I have taken the step of deleting the blendshape targets. I have deleted unused nodes in the hypershade for materials and textures. I have attempted to show all dag objects in the outliner but the file just hangs up for hours without displaying. I have had problems with optimize scene size. If I try to run it through optimize scene size more than once, it returns a fatal error. I really am at wits end with this project because I need to prepare this in short order. Any help or suggestions would be most appreciated.
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 04:20 PM   #2
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

dam that is big! I was going to say "post it up" so we could have a look..but at 94 mg, you had better not LOL

Just out of interest... what is your scene, but I had a scene once that was 5 mg, and that is big
  Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 04:32 PM   #3
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Kevin. It's just a simple biped human character created with nurbs. I'm totally baffled with this issue. It is not the first time I've run into this kind of problem.
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 05:26 PM   #4
Roman
Supreme Being
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

nurbs files tend to get big cause of the tessalation and stuff..
it's not out of the ordinary skyeyez that it's that big.. i've got a scene i made of a garden and it's around 40mgs..
just to be sure though check in your outliner just incase you don't have anything double that you don't need.. if not, i wouldn't worry man..
btw.. i'm not sure about this.. but if in your scene you're workin' real size object.. meters instead of cm or inches, that will make the size bigger too (i think.. )
Roman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 07:23 PM   #5
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

yup, romans right.. try resizing the hole scene very small... then delelte unnecessary shaders, materials which you dont want...
might help
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 07:26 PM   #6
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

"whole scene", sorry
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2002, 07:29 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Try going to windows-relationship editor- sets, and see if you have alot off unused nodes like brushes and old data. Delete all the nodes that you can that are just taking up space and dont do anything.

Hope that helps

Kurt
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2002, 03:50 PM   #8
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'am not sure if your scene contains poly's but deleting the history of an object may also help.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2002, 04:22 PM   #9
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe the outliner can reveal some nasty multiplied copies or something.
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.