Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-09-2006, 09:10 PM   #1
Metallimoons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mb files from maya 8 in maya 7?

Is there a way to open scene files made in maya 8 in maya 7?
I did a lot of work in maya 8 but I find the extrude manipulator bug to be such an annoyance I decided to go back to maya 7, my scene files can not be opened in maya 7, so I'm basically asking for a workaround for this problem. (I don't want to lose any information that's present in the maya 8 scene files)
Metallimoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 07:23 AM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

MB files are binary files written so only Maya 8 files can be opened in Maya 8. However Maya 7 files can be opened in Maya 8, but once saved the MB file will change and will only be usable for Maya 8.

MA Files are ASCII based and are written in plain text. This can be amended in any text editor and all references to Maya 8 can be changed to 7 or 6.5 etc...

Saying that, if your scene has something in it that is only available in Maya 8 then you may experience issues due to that feature not being available in 7 or 6.5 or 6 or 5 or 4 etc... I would recommend only using one or the other and not switching between the different versions.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 01:38 PM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hmmmm, another Maya 8 problem, i haven't hit the extrude problem yet,

the new logo as it boots up looks good though

seems as said, one must use both Maya 7 and 8 unless you know how to change the file..

err?? how do you do that? in text? do you just change the references to Maya 8?? is it that simple? like put 7 instead of 8?

this happened from 6.5 to 7 but there was a work around.
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 01:41 PM   #4
Metallimoons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oke thanx very much

the reason i wanted to switch is the extrude tool manipulator bug in maya 8, wanted to continue working in maya 7 cause I find this bug really annoying, but I guess I'll have to finish the project in maya 8 then.

your help is greatly appreciated, thanks again!
Metallimoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2006, 01:03 AM   #5
derico
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The extrusion manipulator doesn's stay on the selected object when you click the "wold mode" icon on it. It jumps back to somewhere near the original objects pivot area.
Really annoying "feature".
Otherwise I really like the new version.
derico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 09:27 AM   #6
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

take a look at this, it appears they have a fix for the extrude face tool if you don't want to ditch maya 8 just yet...

http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=23208
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 10:33 AM   #7
derico
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much for the info NeoStrider
I have not had time to look it up in the alias community faq´s.

You just made my day mate
derico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 11:20 AM   #8
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mirek03
err?? how do you do that? in text? do you just change the references to Maya 8?? is it that simple? like put 7 instead of 8?

this happened from 6.5 to 7 but there was a work around.
Basically if you use ma files to save with open the file in wordpad/notepad or I would recommend editplus (free). Change the reerences in the file header from Maya 8 to Maya 7.

Here is the header of a Maya 7 File and the scenes requirements:

//Maya ASCII 7.0 scene
//Name: Final_commercial_6.ma
//Last modified: Thu, Sep 14, 2006 08:39:33 PM
requires maya "7.0";
requires "TurtleForMaya70" "3.0.0.5";
requires "Mayatomr" "7.0.1.14m - 3.4.5.2 ";
requires "finalRender" "1.0";
currentUnit -l centimeter -a degree -t film;
fileInfo "application" "maya";
fileInfo "product" "Maya Unlimited 7.0";
fileInfo "version" "7.0.1";
fileInfo "cutIdentifier" "200511200915-660870";
fileInfo "osv" "Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)\n";


Change the 1st line to read Maya ASCII *.* scene
Change the 4th line to read requires maya "*.*";
Change the 10th line to read fileInfo "product" "Maya Unlimited *.*";
Change the 11th line to read fileInfo "version" "*.*.*";

Where *.* is your version of maya. This has worked for Maya versions 4 above, but I am unaware of any issues with doing this with Maya 7 to 8.

How wants to try... :attn:
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 05:15 PM   #9
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

sorry to not be clear, I meant from 8 down to 7 rather than the other way, one may ask why, well as i said, i had trouble rendering sprites until i found out t is not possible in any version of Maya using software renderer and the only way was using a hardware renderer?? too many tuts and not enough experience!!

i took off Maya 8 but have been think ing of using it again, not really sure why, i think Maya 4.5 would be enough for me but..??

I think the problem i had with the view port high render was it was permanently on?? Even in texture mode (6) with no lighting I had lighting (Maya 8) and shadows so i THINK somehow high quality render was always on, though the machine didn't get too chunky?? I don't know its a huge program and i figure somewhere around the year 2009 i might have a descent grasp of it.
thanks for the answer
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.