Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-09-2006, 06:06 AM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Hdri visible in batch render

I've batch rendered out a sequence in which hdr is used, though obviously i don't want the hdri reference sphere to be in the final output. I put the hdr sphere on to the render layers and unticked it, which works fine for rendering out a still of the non ipr render (dont know its correct term) but in the batch render it appears, how do i batch render without the hdr sphere?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2006, 09:30 AM   #2
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

there's a section in the help that refers to batch rendering with layers, try opening maya help and doing a search for batch render...

what you want to read is called 'batch and command-line render with layers' and towards the bottom it'll tell you what stuff to add to a command line render to ensure which layers render...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2006, 12:24 PM   #3
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u just go to its render options for that sphere (it doesnt matter if u made it by render globals it still has the option)
an turn off primary visability
from wen i tried this ages ago i still got the light data from the map an where the pic was its the default black until u composite it out or replace it
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2006, 07:32 AM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Cheers guys, worked a charm, I never thought to look into the render stats of the element itself D'oh!
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2006, 08:46 AM   #5
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Be sure to also look at the objects Mental Ray settings just below the Render Stats and turn of Visible in Transparency. Otherwise it will show up when you try to render anything with transparency.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2006, 08:39 PM   #6
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks for the tip!
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.