Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-09-2006, 02:37 AM   #1
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Soft Mod Prob!

Hi all.
I have a set of characters and they have their heads all set up with blend shapes. But to make the heads slightly different to each other I have used the Soft modification tool. But how do I bake or delete the cluster from history without it reverting back before it was applied?

Thanks
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2006, 08:46 AM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

what about deleting history?
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2006, 03:11 PM   #3
Stephen
Subscriber
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: northampton
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Hi there. I have blend shapes connected to the head which will be lost if I delete history.
__________________
It is by my will alone I set my mind in motion
www.origin3d.co.uk
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2006, 03:24 PM   #4
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

what I usually do - pose the skeleton. duplicate the geometry - tweak it - delete history + blindnodes - connect as blendshape.

which means you can disconnect/connect your blendshapes as often as you need. it does not make any difference as long as you don´t delete history on your bound geometry. but blendshapes don´t get enveloped to the skeleton, so -
explain to me if I got something wrong?
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.