Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-09-2006, 11:09 AM   #16
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

no problem. I will post a tutorial for you as you dont have fur.

Here is my final image. I am rendering my final clip for you guys at the mo. Go to

http://pixalbeat.homestead.com/coyotefur.html


for part 2 of my tutorial
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2006, 02:07 PM   #17
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't have the fur plugin...
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2006, 02:20 PM   #18
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok i will do one for you without fur.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2006, 05:53 AM   #19
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

echo, is your pc slow in general. or is it just when you're using paint for grass?

i just tried 'painting' grass for mine, and its extremely slow. its neva usually slow, but i woldnt recommend paint. For me, fur is the best bet.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2006, 03:39 PM   #20
fleximoronx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

quick question:

i have a light source and a sphere on top of my grass plane. When I render it, my sphere doesn't cast shadows onto the grass... is there a way around it?
fleximoronx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2006, 03:10 AM   #21
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what light source are you using? You can only produce shadows on fur from spot lights.

Here is my image below with shade on it.

Il explain how you do it, then yuo can change it to your hearts content.

1) create spot light. Position it to where you want (obviously behind the sphere)

2) Select the spot light. Now under Rednering menu, go to Fur > Fur Shadowing Attributes > Add to selected light.

3) Then, in your attributes editor, scroll down and select 'depth map shadows.

4) Still, under 'Depth Map Shadows' Make sure the 'Use Auto Focus' is off. i unticked the box above it too. your choice.

5) Scroll down further ...Under Fur Shading /Shadowing, make sure the drop down menu is on Shadow maps.


Then its all about playing with the following, under the light source att. editor:

Fur shading /shadowing
Depth map
Spot light


i did a quick try to show you. Im sure with a bit of effort, you could produce much better results


good luck
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2006, 05:37 AM   #22
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

just looking at the image, and the shadow is very faint, but you can see where im going.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2006, 01:16 PM   #23
Blayd
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Awsome tut!!Thanks for sharing it! I'm a total newbie to Maya, but have played alot in other modellers and POVRAY. Cant wait to try this out..Thanks again!! oh and Videomach wasnt free, its a free trail it says. But got it anyway. thanks for the link too!
Blayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2006, 04:07 PM   #24
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

LOL

yeah soz i forgot its only a trial

anyway glad i cld help. Look out for my site, more tutorials being created and updated everyday.


www.pixalbeat.homestead.com

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 11:40 AM   #25
Blayd
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's bookmarked!!! :bow:
Blayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 02:03 PM   #26
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default



cool

im ypdating tutorials on all subjects everyday. Im doing at least 2 per day with video tuts to follow. The whole site should be finished within a month.


www.pixalbeat.homestead.com/tutorialpage.html


thanks for all your recent feedback!
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 10:32 PM   #27
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mr pix.
echo, is your pc slow in general. or is it just when you're using paint for grass?

i just tried 'painting' grass for mine, and its extremely slow. its neva usually slow, but i woldnt recommend paint. For me, fur is the best bet.
Sorry I haven't posted lately. Been busy with school. Anyway, my computer is really always slow, but it's so much worse when i use the paint tool.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 10:44 PM   #28
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey Echo. Gd to see ya back

have u got a GB of RAM?? thats strange. how many programs you got on their, other than maya?

Clear un needed files, cookies, etc. Run yahoo antispy, uninstall ANY programs you dont use or very rarely, then Try disc cleanup then defragmentating it.

Mine has a GB and is fine. Im getting a new pc soon. New off the shelf, im fed up with getting second hand ones. looks like im gonna have to fork out. im getting 4GB on my next one so no excuses. Cheap too considering. Plus i'll finally have a decent graphics card, which i havent got now.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 05:04 AM   #29
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The computer I'm usin has 27.9GB left. Problem is, it's not my computer really. It's my mom's. I can't really clean out useless stuff, though I really want to.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 12:03 PM   #30
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ooohh.ok got ya. wow she must hve a lot of stuff on it.

However, what takes up the speed, is the RAM. The RAM is what runs your programs. Your hardrive is what looks after your files and folders.

However, if you cant clear pograms, then fair enough.
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.