Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-09-2006, 09:59 PM   #1
Neo-MatrixX
Registered User
 
Neo-MatrixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya reselect tool

Hello, I have a simple questions when working in Maya.
When working with a tool in Maya, I have to reselect the tool each time I want to reuse it. How do I keep that tool
permanently selected so I can reuse.

Thank you
Neo-MatrixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 10:07 PM   #2
Hyperyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think Ctrl triggers youre most recent tool.
__________________
Lets keep our dreams alive!
Hyperyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 11:08 PM   #3
Neo-MatrixX
Registered User
 
Neo-MatrixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried pushing Ctrl after using the last tool but it wasnt reactivated.
Any help would be appreciated.
Neo-MatrixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 03:49 AM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

press 'g' to re-use the last tool
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 03:49 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

G renvolks the last command e.g merge verticies, extrude edge etc
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 03:54 AM   #6
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Maybe it's me, but isn't that what he's asking? How to re-use the last tool after say panning around the geometry etc? If you want the manipulator tool you'll have to press 't', I'm not entirely sure whether I'm reading this correctly
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 06:03 AM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

as gster said - 'G' invokes the last command or action - like extrude for example.

'Y' allows you to use the last tool.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:04 AM   #8
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I don't have maya here with me to check, but what is classed as using the last tool? Do you mean last used manipulator tool? If so surely it's just easier to press w/e/r/t. Sorry for my ignorance
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:08 AM   #9
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh well say for instance you used the split polygon tool last... instead of being just an action maya performs, it's a tool you use on your model... so if you want to use the split polygon tool again after moving verts or something, then pressing the 'y' key will enable the split polygon tool (or whatever last tool - besides translate, rotate, or scale) that you were using.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:10 AM   #10
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

But isn't that exactly what 'g' does?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:21 AM   #11
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i guess that's why there's an option in maya to have everything in history treated as either an action or as a tool... but according to the hotkeys g is 'RepeatLast' and y is NonSacredTool... i just learned by seeing the tool box on the left (and the way the hotkeys go down the first row of keys) that if i wanted to get back to a tool i was just using, y would take care of it for me. i've never used g so i have no idea what it does *shrug*
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 07:24 AM   #12
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Ah k, no probs i always use g to repeat last, strangely enough I was told that was what it was for when I did a maya training course in London. Looks like I was misinformed.
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 08:06 AM   #13
Hyperyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right. The G key
__________________
Lets keep our dreams alive!
Hyperyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2006, 03:11 PM   #14
Neo-MatrixX
Registered User
 
Neo-MatrixX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

thank you for your help, it is the G key
Neo-MatrixX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.