Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-09-2006, 12:32 AM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default resetting IK Handles

Hello - I have a quick question. If I have put my character into a pose and I want to put him back into the bind pose, how do I reset the IK Handles?

I understand that I have to go to modify>evaluate nodes>ignore to switch the IK handles off, which will allow me to put the skin back into bind pose, but how do I reset the IK handles to their original positions? When I evaluate the nodes the geometry just goes back into the position.

Would I have to freeze transformations on the manipulators so that I can just reset eveything to zero or is there another way?

Any help is much appreciated.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 01:11 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i usually group the ik handles to itself. then take the pivot of the new group and place it where the effector of the is handle is. now i can simply 0 out the group, and i know ill be in the bind pose.
[also besure to turn on selection handle for the new group so its selectable in the viewport. under display menu]
good luck.
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 01:28 AM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks vladimirjp. I'll give that a shot.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2006, 04:22 AM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

well I thought I understood this, but I must be doing something wrong cos I can't get it to work. Basically, I have an IKRP Solver connected to an arm skeleton. I have then created a hand manipulator, which is a nurbs circle snapped to the wrist and has been parent constrained to the IK handle and orient constrained wrist joint. I also have a locator which keeps the elbow pointing in the right direction.

As Vladimirjp suggested I have grouped the IK to itself and placed the pivot of the new group at the effector (which seems to be at the wrist).

However, when I move the Ik handle using the hand manipulator, the new group does not move with the rest of the hand, so I can't zero it out to reset the hand to bind pose.

Does that make sense? Probably not. Any help would be much appreciated.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 04:30 AM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

ok, I think I figured it out (if anyone else is actually interested) - I ended up grouping the hand manipulator and Ik handle together and then used the new group to move the hand and to reset it back to the bind pose. I guess before I was only grouping the IK handle.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 10:59 AM   #6
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i think that might give you double transform prblems down the line.
the way you did it was right before.

you just needed then to point constrain the new group to the hand manip [u can point or parent constrain it]
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2006, 11:10 AM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

no problems so far, but I'll definitely look into it. thanks vladimirjp.

EDIT - just gave that a shot - didn't have much luck with the point constraint (it moved, but didn't rotate), but the parent constraint seemed to work fine. cheers!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog

Last edited by arran : 29-09-2006 at 11:37 AM.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.