Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-11-2002, 08:24 PM   #1
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Motherboards

i know absolutely nowt about motherboards
i need one for my new computer, it must support dual xeon 2.8+ processors, and usb2 with 4 slots, up to 4gb of RD or DDR ram (not sure which is better, RD or DDR), AGP8x, it needs to be fast and good im sure u can tell i no nothing, anyone know of any motherboards which matches this criteria?
what else is important for a motherboard?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2002, 08:39 PM   #2
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

here this is what you want.

http://www.supermicro.com/PRODUCT/Mo...7505/X5DA8.htm

O and its ECC DDR ram you should be looking 4.
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2002, 08:47 PM   #3
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

also the "SuperMicro 4xS2 SW IIIHE SWTX L S" is a great board but it might be a bit to pricy for ya
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2002, 08:52 PM   #4
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

people are tellin me that rdram works well with Intels? im not really bothered about the cost of the ram because i like my ram
do mboards have built in usb2 controllers? or are they always usb1.1 and you just buy a seperate device to upgrade to usb2?
oh, and where might i be able to find the second board u mentioned? its not on that site
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com

Last edited by Nem : 25-11-2002 at 08:54 PM.
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:17 AM   #5
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

the Supermicro's are not bad boards... i dont know about any dual xeon cpu boards.. but about the USB 2.0

i have an Intel 850EMV2 board.... which has four usb ports in the back and two frontpanel usb ports... yes some motherboards have built in usb 2 controllers. like my NEC USB 2 controller which is built in on my motherboard....
you only have to install the drivers(can with my mthbrd cd)... and just make sure you have USB 2 compatible devices
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:22 AM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh, i thought you could plug usb1.1 devices into a usb2 port?
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:30 AM   #7
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

yes you can!!!... but you wont get the usb 2 bandwidth(430 mb/s) if your usb device is a 1.1 compatible(12 mb/s)...

now look at the difference!!!!
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:31 AM   #8
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

and your USB 1.1 device will just work as it did on a normal 1.1 port..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:34 AM   #9
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

so its best to have a usb2 controller just in case then
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:37 AM   #10
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

no need man... i have a USB 2 external backup harddrive and a USB 1.1 camera... same port... never encountered any problems...

are you asking whether you should install a usb 2 controller card in a machine which has built-in USB2 controller?
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:45 AM   #11
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

lets setup a scenario so that you would understand it a little better...

i have a system with usb2 compatible ports... now i have 2 devices .. a backup harddrive, and a camera
Backup harddrive USB2
Camera USB1.1

now i use the backup hardrive to backup some data.. backing up complete... now i need some conferencing on the internet.... i plug out the USB2 hdd and then plugin the USB1.1 camera... and WOUALA!!! it works just fine..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:45 AM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

no, im asking if i should buy a motherboard with a usb2 built in controller just incase i do buy a usb2 device sometime
i just havent seen any motherboards (mayb i havent looked hard enough) with usb2 built in
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:47 AM   #13
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

yes i say go with motherboard with usb2 built-in.... for xeons. i dont know... but for P4's,, many come with built-in usb2... for instance, my Intel 850emv2 board... it has USB2 built in
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:48 AM   #14
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

"Yes, i say go with a motherboard with USB2 built in"
correction
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2002, 12:49 AM   #15
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ah right, most xeons have lots of usb ports, just no usb2 ports! if someone would care to prove me wrong, id be grateful
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.