Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 09-11-2006, 05:00 AM   #1
tdsilk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default adding BG video in Maya

Hello,

I'm aware that this subject has been addressed, but I'm unable to grasp the concept. I have Maya's personal edition and I would like to add a video (avi - that I can convert to separat tifs, ect.) to the scene that I can overlay 3D objects/models on top. I would like to have the video playing in the BG while the maya obj is animated on top. I've tried adding a separated tif as a image plane and it just appears to be still. Here are my steps:

1. open a new scene
2. select image plane from the "view menu"
3. open the image in the image properties (selecting the first myimg_0000.tif) and enabling "use image sequence"
4. set keyframes for the start and end time (3 min) on the timeline
5. click "play" on the timeline

When I do this the timeline seems to only play the first frame.

Is there something I'm missing or is there another way to do this?

From reading some of the threads here this appears to be possible. Or maybe it can't be done with the trial version?

Help Please :headbang:

Thanks,
Troy
tdsilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 07:03 PM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey there Troy.

Can't really say, as I don't use PLE. Just wondering, have you tried to just use the AVI as a texture? Have only used unlimited, but with it you can just use a video file instead of an image for the colour channel of a texture-map.

E.g -
- Open up the hypershade window
- Left click on Lambert
- Now open up the attribute editor
- rename it to BGVideoTexture
- click the checkered box next to the color slider
- Select the "Movie" 2D texture
- You'll notice the attrib editor's window just changed. Thats ok.
- Click the folder icon next to "Image Name" and load in your AVI file.
- Next, and hopefully last - just check the "Use Image Sequence" box to on. The text input box should turn purple to indicate that it's controlled by an expression.
In my case, it reads: "movie1.frameExtension=frame".
By adding a multiplier (or divider) to the end I can speed up or slow down the playback of the texture.

I've not worked with sequences of images, other than outputting them and then compositing. Perhaps Maya is expecting the file names to have a different format. (Think of all the formats available in the Render options)

Anyway, I heartily recommend Mike McKinnley's tutorial that covers using an avi as a texture-map. Just note that he's using an older version of Maya in the vid, and some options may be slightly different. (My description is a little different to his, but works fine with Complete 7.0)

You'll find it at http://www.mtmckinley.net/tutorials.html.
It's right down the bottom somewhere. I think it's about 2nd from the bottom.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #3
tdsilk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the response. I'm surprise that this didn't receive more interest. Seems like the would be pretty easy to do. I
have a trial version of 3Ds Max and it works fine. Of course this should be a breeze in maya? Again, all I want to do is add a video as my background and overlay 3d objects created in maya on top. I will give your suggestion and see what happens. Btw, i'm trying to decide between maya and 3ds which one to purchase and being able to model on existing video will weigh heavily in my final decision.

Troy
tdsilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Inline video David Members Lounge 5 09-12-2010 11:40 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.