Complex UV Layout in Maya
Over the last couple of years UV layout in Maya has changed for the better. In this course we're going to be taking a look at some of those changes as we UV map an entire character
# 1 29-11-2006 , 02:20 PM
Subscriber

boolean vs. combine polygon

I am curious to know if it is better to boolean union two polygons together or if is better to use the combine polygon tool? I am new to this arena and I have a sense that the boolean union was the old way of doing things and the combine polygon tool is new. Am I wrong?

Also I notice that all your image planes are constructed using the nurbs plane primitive and then attaching the jpeg. I have Maya 7 and I think I can bypass that step by simply creating an image plane. Is it better to first construct a nurbs primitive plane or, again, is this the old way of setting up the image plane?

Curious new guy to Maya...

# 2 29-11-2006 , 02:34 PM
The Maya Mountain
boolean union works fine, but it can be very messy with your geometry.

using camera-attached image planes also works just fine, but it can be more taxing on your computer and more complicated to set up then simply placing a plane in the scene with the image applied.

It's up to the artist and whatever they like to do better.

# 3 29-11-2006 , 03:09 PM
Subscriber

thanks Senor McKinley..

Thanks for the response. Much appreciated.

So then I will stick with the nurb's plane creation and then apply my modeling image to that plane.

As far as the boolean operation, it is up to the artist. I notice when I boolean union the two polygonal objects, the excess polygon geometry that is not needed in the boolean union is removed from the combined objects. When I compare this to the combine polygon tool, the retained faces or geometry must be removed after the union. In either case it seems to me to be a matter of selecting the right vertices, merging them, and then recreating four sided polygons to clean things up.

Much thanks. 3deeder...