Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-11-2006, 04:32 PM   #1
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default obj import for maya 6?

Anyone know where i can source a obj import plug in for maya 6?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2006, 04:38 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

It has one as far as I know, (I import and export .obj's to and from Z brush) look in the plug in manager.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2006, 05:12 PM   #3
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Go to the plug- in manager and tick the little check box...


All done

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2006, 06:59 PM   #4
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

hmm.... i thought so guys, but for some strange reason when i export as obj, the output file properties says its extension is 'file' as opposed to obj file, now i have exported as obj before no probs, so when i try to import this obj back into any program it isnt recognised, any ideas?
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2006, 07:04 PM   #5
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

Is the OBJ default file extension tick box checked in the options menu?

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2006, 10:11 PM   #6
j5ive
Subscriber
 
j5ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunny Ol' Wigan, UK
Posts: 752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Man I feel stupid. Thanks Jay:bow:
__________________
If you believe in telekinesis, raise my right hand.
j5ive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2006, 10:20 PM   #7
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

No Probs...we all have those days in Maya regardless of experience....


Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.