Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-12-2006, 09:29 PM   #1
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Photorealistic Earth

Hi! This is my first space stuff. I have done the earth, and i want to do venus and mars also. It was a little tricky, but finaly....
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2006, 11:51 PM   #2
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

looks sweet how did you do it?
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 01:56 AM   #3
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

not Photoreal, but great to be sure!


wires?

howed you do it?
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 07:17 AM   #4
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would guess texturing a sphere and add some glow to it...:p

look pretty real though.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 07:41 AM   #5
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

First you need a lot of ram, and then a few hires earth maps like: surface map,specular map, available at earthobservatory in 8K resolution.Then search the web for good looking hires clouds map, also 8K.Then i made a sphere and scale it at 127.6, since the earth ecuator length is about 12760 Km. This sfere will have the surface map shader.Then i duplicate it and scale it 100.2%.This will be the clouds sphere.This enlarges the sphere so that the cloud tops are around 15 miles above the surface (relatively speaking, that is... the actual scale is 1/100th that in these models).After that i duplicated this sphere also and scale it 101.7%...from the original sphere to make the earth's athmosphere. This expands the sphere so that it extends about 120 miles or so (relative to the scale) which is where the atmosphere thins out to nothing(This isn't extremely precise).Plus, the atmosphere always has a different look depending on the Sun's illumination angle and a myraid other factors that just can't be simulated in 3D. Some photos of the Earth from shuttle orbital altitudes show an extremely prominet limb, while others don't appear to have much of a fuzzy edge at all.).I added also a bump map to earth and the clouds layer. The last sphere i made a gradient transparency with the help of facing ratio atribute, and i added some glow.I use one directional light with 2.5 Intensity, to give a little crisp falloff.To avoid overblowning i twicked out the diffuse of the shaders.First render it's creap, but i spend about 4 hours tweaking this.And by the way i used a machine (because of the hires maps) with 4G of ram and 2xdual core proc(this is from the office).At home, where i have single proc and 1G ram it just crashes....(I have some closeups but i'm not sure if i can post them...firm policy)
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 12:02 PM   #6
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So...some other image.I'll try to make the sun rising behind...
Attached Thumbnails
 
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 01:04 PM   #7
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow! It's pretty impressive, waaay ahead of what I can do. Right now, I'm wondering if you are going to add shadows for the clouds and mountains and a rougher texture for the water...
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 04:44 PM   #8
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tried to PM this, but it's too long. For the benefit of everybody else, I'll post it here rather than emailing.



Wow!, Tutze de Mutze!!

Nice model man!

Thanks for the heads-up about earthobservatory. Have also got in mind a render of our solar system. Perhaps even a bit further out into space.

Was just wondering, if the diameter of the earth is 12760km wouldn't you want to scale by 63.8? Scaling a sphere with a radius of 1, by 127.6 gives you a sphere with a diameter of 255.2.

Sure, it's no big deal - it'll just throw off the position of the clouds and the atmosphere, since they're scaled by an amount that assumes the planet is 12760km in diameter.


I think if you try these values you will find that your model better represents our planet.

1) Make sphere. Scale by 63.8 Freeze transformations
2) duplicate, set scale to 1.00376
3) Select initial sphere, duplicate, set scale to 1.0300

This will create 3 spheres with diams of
127.6 - Earth (diam = 2*63.8 = 127.6)
128.08 - Clouds. (earth + 15(24km) miles each side) 48km total
131.44 - Atmosphere (earth + 120(192km) miles each side) 384km total.

Using these figures rather than the ones quoted results in a higher cloud layer and thicker atmosphere.

Don't believe me? Just check for yourself. Load your scene, use these numbers. This will produce something 1/2 the diameter of yours. Freeze the transformations then scale my one by 2 and put the two planets side-by side. You'll see what I mean.

Use Create->MeasureTools->Distance, vert-snapping on the two poles of each sphere to check it's diameter.


All that said and done, your model still looks BLOODY GREAT. Be sure to post the result if you try it and are pleased.


Simon
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 09:18 PM   #9
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow! I just scale everithing 1/100.I 'll use your calculus
in future closeups that i need after the holydays.10x!

PS: about the rougher sea and the cloud shadows, i may fear that the machine will crash.I'll try with smaller res of maps.
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 04:22 PM   #10
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hey man can we see a the texture for this bad boy?
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 05:13 PM   #11
alienpioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I used 5 textures: One for surface color, one for surface bump, then a specular map for the suraface that i pluged to specular roll off of the blin material that i used for the surface.Then for the clouds sphere, i used a color map with alpha channel for transparency, ans also a bump map for clouds , that is derived from the clouds map (you know ...desaturate then levels in photoshop).This is a sample of the clouds map(640X320). PS: all maps have 8K.
Attached Thumbnails
 

Last edited by alienpioneer : 02-01-2007 at 06:27 PM.
alienpioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2006, 01:07 PM   #12
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Originally posted by enhzflep

Was just wondering, if the diameter of the earth is 12760km wouldn't you want to scale by 63.8? Scaling a sphere with a radius of 1, by 127.6 gives you a sphere with a diameter of 255.2.

Sure, it's no big deal - it'll just throw off the position of the clouds and the atmosphere, since they're scaled by an amount that assumes the planet is 12760km in diameter.


I think if you try these values you will find that your model better represents our planet.

1) Make sphere. Scale by 63.8 Freeze transformations
2) duplicate, set scale to 1.00376
3) Select initial sphere, duplicate, set scale to 1.0300

This will create 3 spheres with diams of
127.6 - Earth (diam = 2*63.8 = 127.6)
128.08 - Clouds. (earth + 15(24km) miles each side) 48km total
131.44 - Atmosphere (earth + 120(192km) miles each side) 384km total.

Using these figures rather than the ones quoted results in a higher cloud layer and thicker atmosphere.

Don't believe me? Just check for yourself. Load your scene, use these numbers. This will produce something 1/2 the diameter of yours. Freeze the transformations then scale my one by 2 and put the two planets side-by side. You'll see what I mean.

Use Create->MeasureTools->Distance, vert-snapping on the two poles of each sphere to check it's diameter.


All that said and done, your model still looks BLOODY GREAT. Be sure to post the result if you try it and are pleased.


Simon
freakin nerd...(no offence but woah man woah)


cool model i gotta check out earthobservatory and try this myself time to put it all in a notepad...
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2006, 06:06 AM   #13
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

wow i like it alot, looks amazing dude!
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2006, 09:50 PM   #14
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

is it really necessary to make a model of the earth 'to scale'? i mean when you think about it, any sphere is 'to scale' with the earth as long as it's not ovoid...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2006, 06:42 AM   #15
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nah, no need to make any single sphere to scale, but this thing's 3 spheres to do the clouds and the atmosphere, so scale is what puts them all in order. What if the clouds had a larger scale than the atmosphere? Sure, that's an extreme example, but the aim here's photorealism I thought.

@ acid44: :zzz: Yeah, whatever.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.