Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-11-2002, 04:03 PM   #1
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Illustrator eps?

I thought Maya supported the eps file format. In fact I'm sure that it does as the icon is listed when I try to use the file node on a blinn. I'm trying to project a type onto a nurbs plane. When I attempt to load the eps (rgb style), I get a 'fail to import' return. Anyone know why I would be running into difficulty. Thanks.
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2002, 04:34 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I've not tried to import an .eps for a texture. What you can do is import an Illustrator files' line work as curves in your scene.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2002, 05:17 PM   #3
skyzeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for responding MMcK,
How do I import as curves, though?
skyzeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2002, 05:27 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I did so simply from File > Import
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2002, 06:39 PM   #5
BulletProof
Subscriber
 
BulletProof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Illustrator

Don't use Illustrator EPS...Use .ai instead...save as version 8....that works...believe me !

b u l l e t
BulletProof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 02:34 AM   #6
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have always wondered about he eps format.

Can someone tell me why this is so "pro".

I know there are some extra info embedded into an eps file, but what is the practical gain of this?
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 05:42 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It just lets you create curves in Illustrator. Some people find that easier.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 09:46 AM   #8
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Originally posted by undseth
I have always wondered about he eps format.

Can someone tell me why this is so "pro".

I know there are some extra info embedded into an eps file, but what is the practical gain of this?
the "e" in eps does not mean "embedded information", but "encapsulated postscript" and is basically not a complete page, but just a little piece of a page you can add as part of a full page. postscript is a programming language used for layouting. it is very similiar to pdf (in fact pdf was developed from postscript). the advantage of having a full programming language lets you create/use not only fonts (pixel or vector fonts) but also graphics primitves (lines, circles ... ). each letter in a (e)ps file is set at a absolute position (very very precisely) - as the position is determined by a programming language (postscript) you can add random fonts too, there not every A look like the next A. other advantage is that most better printers can interpret postscript directly, meaning you only send the postscript file to printer and no matter what printer you use the result is always the same.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 05:01 PM   #9
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I believe you have to create outlines in illustrator first...then save as an .eps file....then import that info into Maya
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 05:23 PM   #10
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I got to ask now... how are you guys doing that "quote" thing at the top of the page.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 05:31 PM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Originally posted by iron_tick
OK, I got to ask now... how are you guys doing that "quote" thing at the top of the page.
At the bottom right of a post, you should see options for both "Edit" and "Quote."
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2002, 03:43 PM   #12
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by mtmckinley
At the bottom right of a post, you should see options for both "Edit" and "Quote."
Oh i see thanks again...
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.