Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-12-2006, 04:17 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default add custom attributes or use Set Driven Keys

going through some tutorials, and it seems that these two more or less do the same thing. am i just confused? in what sort of situation would you use one over the other? or do you use a combination of both?

thanks for helping
renderAHH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2006, 09:30 PM   #2
Registered User
Xander-0's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: This Place
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

The two do NOT do the same thing. Yes, I suppose you could rig them to do similar actions, but they provide very different functions.

Driven keys are pretty much equivalent to an 'if-then' statement. It allows certain sets of motions to automatically happen when the conditions are met. Like in the tutorial, a door opens whenever an object gets close to it. This has a large number of applications, which include things like dials and so forth.

Adding a custom attribute allows you to do literally almost anything. You can use the attribute to control visibility, for one. In fact, you can use a custom attribute to control whether or not driven keys are evaluated. There are many possibilities.

There's that explanation. As for using them... it just varies. Some things will work better in one situation in another, and there are probably a number of times when a combination of the two must be used. Unfortunately, its rather a case-by-case thing...
Book Wise
Xander-0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

Thread Tools

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.