Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-12-2006, 12:34 AM   #1
idomain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rotating the Rotate Tool Only

Hi,

I've currently experiencing with this problem in Maya... Could anyone please tell me how to rotating the Rotate Tool without rotating the model itself in Maya?

Example:


Thanks in advanced for any helps.
idomain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 03:22 AM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

G'day.

Not so sure you can actually do that. Just out of curiosity, what exactly are you trying to achieve?

There's most likely another way that one should go about this problem. Btw, you do know that the outer circle will rotate around the camera's Z axis right? By positioning the camera and then using a combination of the outer and inner circles in addition to te freeze transformations action, you should be able to rotate it to any orientation very quickly.

Simon
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 04:11 AM   #3
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Simon congrats on your 100th post mate, your cooking lol.

rotate without using the rotate tool?? now there's an interesting question, that will have me up at night trying to figure that one.

surely as Simon suggests you mean, pan, dolly, zoom via the alt and mouse keys??

should tell you that on the start up tutorial the first and everytime you open Maya until you tick the box that makes it go away, really it is worth a look.

other than that you can rotate the object via the attributes editor, you can hold the contol key down, put the mouse where the red arrow pionts to and press the middle mouse button and drag, the object will rortate, or jusr type it in numerically.

other than that, 'rotating the rotate tool' i think you are having a joke, the rotate tool is meant to rotate the object, not the other way round??
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy

Last edited by mirek03 : 21-12-2006 at 04:16 AM.
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 07:39 AM   #4
idomain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello enhzflep and mirek03! Thanks for your replies. I know it does sounds weird, but I hope I didn't confused on you gus... I've finally found out the solution, kind of similar to the enhzflep's one (the Freeze Transformations)... and here it goes:

Step 1. First of all make a cube, then select the Rotate Tool, then go to Modify/Center Pivot.

Step 2. Once the Rotate Sphere showed up, roate it to any degree you like.

Step 3. Go to Modify/Freeze Transformations.

Step 4. Do the reverse rotate via Step 2.

Done.

Last edited by idomain : 21-12-2006 at 07:49 AM.
idomain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 01:14 PM   #5
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

why would you want to do that?

if you're looking to rotate in a certain axis (that's not x, y, or z) that's what the large yellow loop is for. adjust your perspective view til you're where you want to rotate, and then just grab that bad boy and have at.

now if you were talking about 'rotating' the move tool, i'd totally want to be able to do that.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2006, 04:56 PM   #6
idomain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi NeoStrider,

Originally posted by NeoStrider
why would you want to do that?
Because I was trying to figure how to rotate the model in X directions, therefore I had to make the rotating tool somewhat around 65 degrees.

And yes, that's right, I had another look at the large yellow loop one... that works like a charm! - Just never really got my hands on this one before, but thanks for your tips too anyhow!
idomain is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.