Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 14-02-2007, 04:51 AM   #31
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

update time! i have...
resized the engine at the back
finished off the guns
seperated the pieces of the robot so i can rig it
touched up and finished off the head
and changed the bit the head is built on to make it cool less blocky


so hows this then?
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 05:43 AM   #32
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey, i think i am finished modeling now and would like to start rigging the robot but i need the go ahead from you lot first, is it ok? (images above)
say so if its not perfect cause i have lots and lots of time
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2007, 09:40 PM   #33
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have just finished the rig and in a bored moment saved a copy and attached it to the robot

heres the rig

and here is the robot with the rig (this one rocks)
http://www.3dshowreel.com/imageup/vi...171710598n.jpg
follow the link and its a full screen render so make sure you zoom in
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 05:33 PM   #34
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well i have been a busy be i made an example rig and decided to see how it would move and got a bit carried away
tell me what you think
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qj4BXwRIZ84
i have the music sorted out for the animation but i need to know can i use someone eles music since it is for non-commercial use? and i would like to share this to but i don't know how. does any one know any web sites?
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2007, 12:34 PM   #35
DukerX
Subscriber
 
DukerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Really cool model. Still, it wouldn't hurt putting some more detailing on the railgun and some of the plain faces on it.

The animation looks weird, really... Think his legs are too much apart in the front and the walk-cycle seems to defy physics a bit. I haven't played MGS so I don't know how those chaps move in the game, but if you are to use telescoping/sliding motion on the legs, I think it should be the lower part of the legs telescoping on themselves rather then sliding on the upper thingies.

If you haven't "locked" the model yet, I'd also recomend making the groin a bit wider to make the walk-cycle a bit more realistic. After all.. It's supposed to support ALOT of weight and unless they have invented some super-strong unobtainium alloys it might be a bit flimsy.

Oh and don't get me wrong... I'm really impressed with the design as it is now too and it's way beyond my capabilities (struggeling with making a "working" gyro atm) but my subjective opinion is it could be even better.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
-DX-
DukerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2007, 02:58 PM   #36
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that slideing surface only slides up a tiny bit and he does walk on his side of his feet i have redone the rig and played with the metal gear abit and managed to get this
http://youtube.com/watch?v=30VFGKq_tGk
i'm not going to resize the hips and stuff but i can add abit more detail
oh and here is the video of the real robot moveing
part 1
http://uk.gamespot.com/users/boman12...SdikWCq5b4NvjA
part 2
http://uk.gamespot.com/users/boman12...nZhnjPw5b4NvDE
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2007, 07:38 PM   #37
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why am i the only one posting here, whats up with my robots walk.
for my animation i needed a warehouse so i made one. let me know what you think of my Caged Bird. btw i will add colour next
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2007, 11:42 PM   #38
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

since i have played with lighting all week its time i shown you my work

and my song and a really really advise you to download it its mega hot. and you metal gear fans will love it. if you could give me a music upload site it would be much appreciated
this link takes you to megaupload to the song (follow the onscreen instructions)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SVRLCHRG
please don't use it on your works its my song not yours,cheers
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2007, 08:52 AM   #39
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yesterday i did a full screen render with basic colours for my desktop (here)

and i realised that my robot being grey messed it up so i have added colour to my robot (just as a sample) now when i make my textures i know what colour i want to use
*all thanks for the material goes to younglions studio tutorial i ripped out his car paint shader, i said it would come in useful lol. is it ok if i use it younglion?*
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 11:08 PM   #40
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

has this thread got the flew? i'm not even getting as much views as i used to
i have got good news and bad news. its all good for me but not so much for you
bad news: i can't texture and i dont want to ruin it so i am done with the modeling, rigging and lighting
good news: i have a brand new super cool image!!! beware cause you might just wet your selfs in amazement...brace your selfs...
click me for the image it takes you to 3d showreel (from 3d-palace)
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 11:42 PM   #41
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Looks good man, not too sure about the colour, bit "70s Cortina brown"
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2007, 03:29 PM   #42
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Looks good man, not too sure about the colour, bit "70s Cortina brown"
i like cortina brown lol
i tryed it with loads of different colours and this brown/bronze colour won me over. what colour do you suggest?
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2007, 10:33 AM   #43
tadpole3159
Subscriber
 
tadpole3159's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: coventry, england
Posts: 191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

my latest image is

i don't like it.
i think its so "blah" because the robot is to dark and the environment is to bright...hmmmmmm...any idea's people? i'm useing mental ray and maya and a blah picture can some one help me fix it
__________________
I love maya
tadpole3159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2007, 11:16 AM   #44
TheFourRiders
Subscriber
 
TheFourRiders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looks great! What's the poly-count?
__________________
Open your eyes... Someone or something powerful created these creatures, these draconians... This is a war of conquest... This is the portent of the fallen stars... We face a foe who seeks, at the very least, to enslave us, or perhaps destroy us completely.
TheFourRiders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2007, 12:58 AM   #45
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

the last render does look abit to dark, infact very

try rendering what you did last time where you said, "yesterday i did a full screen render with basic colours for my desktop (here)" where everything was light and perfect but make the mech some other colour such as light blue or green, whatever rocks your boat ...

thats my two sense :p

mj
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.