Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-01-2007, 06:27 AM   #1
blackfmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem with texture on 2 items

hi i´m Flavio, from Brazil,
sorry to bother you guys with question like this but i´ve tried some forum but no one responded.
I´m a little new in Maya and there a thing that is happening that i dont know how to get out.
when you import an image to a sphere to be its texture, it goes normally. but if i want to do on a second sphere it wont because the second sphere will appear with the texture that i putted on the first one. and if i chage the texture of the second , it will change the first one as well. please help me solve that.
Thank you very Much Bye
blackfmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:30 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Are you creating a new material for each sphere? Sounds like your adding an image file to the default lambert.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:33 AM   #3
blackfmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is what im doing:
im adding an image to a lambert to be as guide to do a char..
but when i put the lambert to work , he start working for every single nurbs that i do... so evry single 1 comes with the lambert that i do, and if i change to any other it ll change all...
blackfmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:34 AM   #4
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

hello flavio and welcome to simplymaya,

i think your just adding a texture to one sphere and changing one of their material/color options which then which then is leading both of them to change, if im on the right track to resolve this issue, do this:

right click on sphere1
go to Materials
Assign new Materials
then choose "lambert"
and so forth choose your texture/picture

then for sphere2 repeat method 1, do not just click on the checked box because you will edit sphere1 if you get what i mean,

marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:40 AM   #5
blackfmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i just tryied w/ the right click and assigning new material and it worked, thank you very much for the help.
but let me get this right... every time that i want to change the texture i have to do the right click and everything else?
thanks again
blackfmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:44 AM   #6
blackfmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is there a way to make it default so everytime i change its texture it ll assign new material automatic? i was following the video of the basic human building, and he did it w/out doing the right click, he just created... thanks again
blackfmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:47 AM   #7
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

no problem, always here to help

if you want to change your texture/picture for an object because you dont like it, just go to the object which you want to change the texture, just go to the objects attribute editor and click on checked box instead of assigning a new material.

also a tip here, if you want two objects to have the same material, the one without the texture/picture just right click on the object and go,

go to Materials
assign excisting material and find the object's name you want to copy off. if you have trouble just post in here again and i will help out

cheers, marlon
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:50 AM   #8
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Originally posted by blackfmg
i was following the video of the basic human building, and he did it w/out doing the right click, he just created... thanks again
hmm thats wierd, ived never really came across that. maybe he could of had a hotkey to assign new material for him :p well i dont know about that though someone might else post and give you the anwser since i dont know, sorry

mj
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 07:10 AM   #9
Mayastatic
Subscriber
 
Mayastatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I have an other way for you!
Go to Window- Rendering editors- Hypershade.
There you can make new materials. ( only drag and drop the Material you choosed ( on the left side ) in the upper window. (There is the default lambert too. )
Double click on your new material and you can add some textures or what you want. In that scene you have now different materials for your models.
To texturise you must only drag and drop from the Hypershade window with the middle mouse button to the object in your scene.
That way is better for your workflow. Rename all materials you made( right mousebutton on that material in Hypershade- Rename )
Mayastatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.