Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 26-01-2007, 11:13 AM   #16
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Nope it only cost $365 and i dont have an allowance lol. I work for it
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 05:15 PM   #17
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by starjsjswars
Cool where do you work tunes?

I`m working for a new company called "AIFX" down in dartford uk. (near London). My boss set up a games company and had 3 smallish hits with them (dont ask me what they were i have no idea) and then was asked if he could do a trailer for someone. He then got the idea of doing a movie.

In sept 06 me and another were hired to make a teck demo of what could be done, and in Nov it blow the intvester away. In march we will be expanding.

heres a vary bad website but it has a copy of the teck-demo on it.


www.andalus.tv

Currently I have mad 8 main characters 5 secondary charaters and 3 background characters with multi body part (so they can look different but only need 1 rig) and created 32 ses of cloths as well as weapons, items people are holding. I dont have to uv map, texture or rig them (thats what the other girl does) so that helps.


Originally posted by starjsjswars
Nope it only cost $365 and i dont have an allowance lol. I work for it
where the hell you getting your maya from ????
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,

Last edited by tweetytunes : 26-01-2007 at 05:29 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 05:32 PM   #18
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think that might be the student licence
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 10:56 PM   #19
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Haven.t heard of a student license... I've only seen Unlimited, Complete and Personal Learning Edition. So can I get a link, please?
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2007, 11:04 PM   #20
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Think you might need to get in contact with your reseller to get a price quote, as you need to prove that your either a education establishment (school, college, uni etc) or your a student.

There used to be links to a price, but it was on resellers sites not via alias/autodesk direct.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2007, 01:41 AM   #21
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

http://www.studica.com/


Great site.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2007, 05:03 PM   #22
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
I`m working for a new company called "AIFX" down in dartford uk. (near London). My boss set up a games company and had 3 smallish hits with them (dont ask me what they were i have no idea) and then was asked if he could do a trailer for someone. He then got the idea of doing a movie.

In sept 06 me and another were hired to make a teck demo of what could be done, and in Nov it blow the intvester away. In march we will be expanding.

heres a vary bad website but it has a copy of the teck-demo on it.


www.andalus.tv

Currently I have mad 8 main characters 5 secondary charaters and 3 background characters with multi body part (so they can look different but only need 1 rig) and created 32 ses of cloths as well as weapons, items people are holding. I dont have to uv map, texture or rig them (thats what the other girl does) so that helps.




where the hell you getting your maya from ????
that quite a lucky turn of events for the company

good job


i myself am i maya seven man always was and always will be i dont want all this new crap when im still learning polygons :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2007, 08:28 PM   #23
graphiac
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you and I both I'm still working some really basic projects and those are coming along but coming along slowly at that.
__________________
Cannibalism is just a friendly form of population control.
graphiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 05:16 PM   #24
cheesly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I prefer maya 7 I had maya 8 but there wasn't much difference and i really didn't like it for some reason I went back to 7
cheesly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2007, 03:27 AM   #25
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

same with cheesly. tried maya 8 didnt like it went back to 7.0. I dont know why they keep making new versions though nowadays with so many plugins out there especially at highend3d.com I dont really see a need for newer versions at this rate.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2007, 01:08 AM   #26
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Get a Platinum account at Autodesk and get all the up dates for free and monthly DVD downloads for a full year.
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2007, 12:05 PM   #27
ZeroAlarm
Subscriber
 
ZeroAlarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by tweetytunes
I`m working for a new company called "AIFX" down in dartford uk. (near London). My boss set up a games company and had 3 smallish hits with them (dont ask me what they were i have no idea) and then was asked if he could do a trailer for someone. He then got the idea of doing a movie.

In sept 06 me and another were hired to make a teck demo of what could be done, and in Nov it blow the intvester away. In march we will be expanding.

heres a vary bad website but it has a copy of the teck-demo on it.


www.andalus.tv

Currently I have mad 8 main characters 5 secondary charaters and 3 background characters with multi body part (so they can look different but only need 1 rig) and created 32 ses of cloths as well as weapons, items people are holding. I dont have to uv map, texture or rig them (thats what the other girl does) so that helps.




where the hell you getting your maya from ????
I don't suppose you take on gap year students or do apprenticeships? :p I can't find anyone who does!

I have Maya 7 and I think I'm going to stick with it for the next 4 years! I don't think many Universities upgrade their software that frequently, so when I go I'll probably be using version 6 :p
ZeroAlarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 09:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.