Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 23-01-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default lost directional emitter

for some strange reason maya won't let me create directional emitters. all the other options (such as volume emitter etc) come up. But not directional emitter.:headbang:

CAn anyone help? Its driving me mad.
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 10:41 AM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Never seen that. Can you explain more about the stapos of what you're doing? What version of Maya? Are there any errors or warnings when you launch Maya? etc...

I just tried and directionals are still there so there's something very odd in your setup.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 10:45 AM   #3
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've given up on the directional emitter. What i am attempting to do is contain particles within a cone, with the particles emitting from the tip of the cone. Any ideas? I'm getting so stuck!
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 10:49 AM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well what are you stuck on. I would create a small cone, emit from the object, and have a larger cone that your particles collide with. Pretty simple if I understand you correctly. What's not working?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:01 AM   #5
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

erm. how do you effect where in the shape the emitter is located? at the moment it is located at the base of the cone, not the tip.
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:04 AM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

the whole shape (or you can look into emitting by texture but you really don't need to). Just do as I recommended and you'll be golden.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:16 AM   #7
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default oh dear.

k. Well, what i did was:

create cone
create 3d fluid container
shift select both
emit from object.
create larger cone around it. shift select both
make collide.

But there aint no collision. i need them to radiate out evenly in a cone shape. and then when they hit objects to be blocked and continue to radiate outwards in manner of a spot light. (the whole point of this is to, in effect, solidify a spot light. I'm really sorry to bug you so much. I've been trying for days! :blush:
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:22 AM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh, I had no idea you were using fluids. Thought it was particles. I don't know fluids well at all, but my main question would be why are you using them? Why not just create a spot light with fog?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:35 AM   #9
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

because I am an architecture student and I am attempting to show a spot light as a solid polygon that I can manipulate, and it will appear like a shape with the shadows of objects cut out of it. c?
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:38 AM   #10
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Honestly I don't. Seems like you could do that with a spot light casting shadows and fog turned on, but maybe I just don't get what you're really trying to do. Sorry and good luck.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 11:47 AM   #11
rejh2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

one more reply. I've done it with fog bfore. But i need to manipulate the shape now. not just have it show up in the renderer. Well. thanks for all your help anyway! :p
rejh2 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.