Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 29-01-2007, 10:26 PM   #1
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mental ray shader UV issues

I'm having a major problem with Mental Ray right now. I'm working on my final university project, and have made a 3d character. Originally made up of 5 separate objects with separate UV maps, then combined into one.

Each frame individually is rendered absolutely fine in Maya when I click the render button.

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/7...alworlddb6.jpg

However, when I send it to the batch editor, I get this.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/3078/errbr6.jpg

Does anybody know why this is?
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2007, 10:44 PM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What version of Maya/ MR?

Are you using complete, unlimited, educational version?

When you say you "send it to the batch editor", do you mean you run the batch render command or are you sending it to a render farm?

The background behind the character... is it 3d, an image plane, comped?

Are you using render layers?

Are you using render IBL?

What image format are you rendering to?

You results are very screwy so I'm just trying to get an idea of what you're doing.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 05:52 AM   #3
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What version of Maya/ MR?
This is Maya 8, Mental Ray 3.5.1.2

Are you using complete, unlimited, educational version?
This is complete.

When you say you "send it to the batch editor", do you mean you run the batch render command or are you sending it to a render farm?
Batch render command

The background behind the character... is it 3d, an image plane, comped?
Its an image plane I used as a guide. I removed this for the final render.

Are you using render layers?
Currently no, but I will eventually.

Are you using render IBL?
Yes

What image format are you rendering to?
Maya IFF
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 12:32 PM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So the only diff between your in Maya render and your batch render is the image plane I guess. Does it render properly in Maya without the image plane?

I'm not a big fan of Maya's IBL. Not sure if they got it fixed in Maya 8, but it causes all sorts of problems in Maya 7 and is almost useless with render layers. I could easily see it being the cause of your problems but I have no idea why. Try removing it and seeing if your renders start looking the same in Maya and with the batch renderer.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 09:31 PM   #5
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Dann
Try removing it (RE: IBL Lighting) and seeing if your renders start looking the same in Maya and with the batch renderer.
I'm afraid I cant do that. I've spent a considerable amount of time and money towards this major factor in my project, which is now marked for assessment.

I'll find a solution elsewhere.
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 09:43 PM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

OK, I wasn't sugguesting you ditch your IBL, just do a test to see if that's the problem. Eliminate all possible problems and eventually you'll figure out the culprite.

Good luck.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 08:08 AM   #7
mrSimon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, sorry for assuming the wrong thing. My bad :headbang:

I've fixed this in the end, by simply making a new shader. Source images are just the ones I used matched up all in one file, and I resized existing UV's using the selection constraints tool.

Only took an hour or so to fix in the end. But still, mental ray is a little annoying
mrSimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2007, 09:00 AM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

congrats on the fix, and yes, Mental Ray is a pain in the ...
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.