Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-01-2007, 09:05 PM   #1
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default skeleton problem

can someone tell me why the center of the skeleton was like twisted? and how to i reset the rotation to be like... upright? i tried freeze transformation and got this error message "// Error: Freeze Transform was not applied because joint1.rotateX has incoming connection. //" please help thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
 
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 12:22 AM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Basically, this error is telling you that the Joint1 Rotate X attribute in the control panel has some node attached to it. This will be either due to you having already binded the skin to the skeleton or some other node already working on it.

To reset its rotation this should be done for every joint that requires it prior to binding the skin. So unbind the skin and then try again.

If not let us know.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:23 PM   #3
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:39 PM   #4
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

still isnt working, i detached skin and still cant freeze transformations, same error message really frustrated apreciate all the help i can get
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:58 PM   #5
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

the local rotation axis are messed up on the joint.
go in component mode and choose the compnent axis option and straighten it out. [see the docs]
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 03:02 PM   #6
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

simply recreated skeleton and it the rotation tool starts all crooked, after freezing transformations its still crooked and im completely stumped please help
Attached Thumbnails
 
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 03:27 PM   #7
ryokukitsune
Registered User
 
ryokukitsune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the easiest way to fix this is to delete that joint, first unparent all child bones from it and delete it and simply replace it with a new joint.

as an explination of what happened is you made a full chain of joints branching from the root. usualy you want to make your root and end its chain there then make all other chains seperate. then parrent them to the root when your finished. this keeps the orentations of the root seperate from any chain in the hierarchy so your character will have a parent orentation that is to the world.

if you wanted to take the hard way of fixing it its similar to the easy way. all you would have to do is un parent the skeleton from the root and zero out the rotations. if the orentation is screwed up you need to use the orent tool to fix it to the world. ( skeleton>orent tool = option box)

make sure your setings are reset and your rotations are zero .

if you have any other questions, IM me and I'll help you out.
ryokukitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:54 PM   #8
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok ill try that thanks,
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 03:48 AM   #9
ryokukitsune
Registered User
 
ryokukitsune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it also might help if you change the size of your joints to something smaller, all you have to do is select all of your joints in the hierarchy and change the radius value to a lower number this makes placement a bit easier. this value is also unique to the chain so you can have another character of a diffrent size and it have larger joints.

or you can overide all joint sizes and adjusting the display size by going to Display>joint size>custom = option box. it basicly does the same thing as changing the radus value except it does it to all joints in the scene plus new joints.
ryokukitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:12 PM   #10
thewooleymammoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default sweet

sweet thanks i was trying to figure that out and couldnt, didnt think it was a big deal so i just left it thanks alot!
thewooleymammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.