Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-12-2002, 02:19 AM   #1
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rate your setup...

Im running on an athalon 1400 single cpu 256mb ddr ram geforce3. runs very well with modelling until you get a lot on the screen but can take a long time to render.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 04:14 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I have a 1.3 athlon, 768 SDRAM, g-force 2. I will be upgrading to a FireGL 8800 as soon as I save up the money to get my upgrade to MAYA 4.5. Cant wait to get my new card!!!! The one I have works well but Im so looking forward to getting the fire GL soon.

Other than that my system handles everything pretty well in MAYA (cant seem to run Warcraft 3 since I installed XP though very fustrating!!!! Pretty sure its the video card driver, just cant find the right one to settle it down). Maya runs smooth and fast, only time it slows down a bit is when I try to animate a Sub-D character, I do must of my animation in wire or skeleton view anyway.

Rendering in polys is very fast, in sub-d slowes down a bit. My Maya seldom crashes and over all dont have any major display problems other than hypergraph/Shade losing their names or pictures.

I cant complain!!!! I give my system for what I use it for a 8 out of 10
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 05:38 AM   #3
undseth
Subscriber
 
undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a Pentium III, 600 Mhz. 384 MB SDRAM with 8MB VRAM on the ATI card. Win2K on a Inspiron 5000 laptop.

I have no issues what so ever, besides some lag when opening hypershade in bigger projects.

If speed isn't an issue, I give it 10 out of 10, it works perfect!
__________________
I do not support Bush! Nor Saddam! Long live UN!
undseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 05:56 AM   #4
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a intel pentium IIII 2.4 ghz
1 gig ram
geforce 4 4600 ti 128mg
80 gig hd
dvd/cd burner
dvd drive
cd burner
Iomega 100meg removable drive
Dual 17" monitors
Running XP Pro
DELL

And is it sweet!
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 07:49 AM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Dual AMD Athlon XP (modded to MP) 2000+ (MSI K7D Master-L mobo)
1GB DDR RAM
Asus Geforce 2 GTS
SBLive!Value
Pinnacle Firewire card
AMD Home-PNA adapter
NEC USB 2.0 card
30GB (Samsung) + 80GB (Maxtor) HDD
DVD ROM
CDR/RW burner
19" monitor
Basic Keytronic Win95 keyboard
Wacom Intuos2 A5 (USB)
Logitech Dual Optical mouse
Running Windows 2000 pro (and Linux soon)
And the most important: MS Force Feedback Wheel (anyone up to a GPL race? )

Can't really rate this system yet because it's only 2 days old. Seems to be stable and fast. I'm going to build another comp. today of my leftover parts (950MHz celeron2 w/768MB ram).
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 09:35 AM   #6
chan_345
Registered User
 
chan_345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New Brighton, Pa
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

pentium 2
64 ram
120 GB hardrive
Nvidia Riva video card
logitech optical mouse
CD Burner

Well, based on the fact that it is a three year old gateway, i give it a 6 out of 10. I mean come on, i'm running Maya for gods sake, gotta give some credit for that. Now if i could only get Quake 3 or Red Faction to run. I need a new video card, but the one i have now is built into the motherboard. Fun, fun, fun.
__________________
If it can't be fixed with duct tape and a hammer, it isn't worth being fixed... Unless it's my computer.
chan_345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 01:51 PM   #7
iron_tick
Subscriber
 
iron_tick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland USA
Posts: 719
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is most definatly an interesting post. lets keep it going. Everyone join in.
__________________
<html><font size=2>
<font color="blue">
And after calming me down with some orange slices and some fetal spooning,
E.T. revealed to me his singular purpose.

--TOOL, 10,000 Days---

</font></pre>
</html>
iron_tick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 02:43 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

- Asus P4PE mobo w/ onboard gigabit lan, firewire, SATA, and audio (the onboard audio sucks so will be investing in an audigy at some point...already have my pro audio card inside and working), 6 USB (supports 2.0)
- Intel P4 2.53 GHz
- 512MB Corsair XMS PC3200 RAM with heatsink
- MSI GeForce TI4200 128 video card
- WD 120GB HD with 8 MB cache
- Black Lite-on dvd player and another CD-RW
- O/S is WinXP Pro

Using an old dell 17" monitor for the time being. Bought a black/silver Viewsonic slimline keyboard (feels like a laptop) and a logitech optical mouse.

System pretty much rocks with Maya and everything else! The only problem has been with scrolling around (zooming in) after heavy usage of paintFX...moving tends to get sluggish. I said in another post though, it may just be me not knowing how to optimize properly when using it.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2002, 02:51 PM   #9
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Athlon XP 1900
512MB DDR
GeForce 3 Ti500
100GB HDD
17" Monitor

I plan to upgrade soon

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 01:20 PM   #10
Calvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

AMD Athlon XP 2000
512 DDR RAM
Asus A7S333 Mobo
Asus Geforce 4 Ti 128 DDR RAM
80 Gig Seagate Baracuda
Asus CD Writer
Asus CD ROM
D-Link LAN card
Running on Windows 2000 Pro


It's a week old, and I love it. The first machine I bought with my own, hard-earned money. Surprisingly, when working it keeps up with a dual my school's PIV and 1 Gig of RAM, especially with dynamics. Haven't tried rendering yet, but I'm sure its faster then my loyal old PIII 600.

Calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2002, 02:59 PM   #11
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Now that I've had time to tinker with my new dual setup (specs above) I can rate it: 9.75 / 10. The weakest point on my system is now the GF2. No, it's not slow or anything and works like charm. The 0.25 point drop is due to the fact that it could be a little better with a new vid card. Anyway, the bottom line is that I'm 100% satisfied with it for now... New vid card, more ram or whatever wouldn't make any difference on my renderings
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:49 AM   #12
iodine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SPecs

AMD Thunderbird 1.1
256 PC133
8gig;60gig;4gig MAXTOR
Geforce 2 TI 200
MSI SE Red
Win XP
Maya 4.5
Mental Ray

AMD K6-2 350 o/c 400
98 PC-100
8gig;4gig MAXTOR & WD
Old Via Board
WinXP
Maya 4.5
Mental Ray

Cyrix 150
48 SIMM
1.5gig;4gig; MAXTOR
Matrox Vid
Some Mobo
Slackware 8.1
Maya 4.5
Mental Ray


These are the machines i use for rendering and designing .. now if i could only get premeire to render through a network.
iodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2002, 12:20 AM   #13
Cikala
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dual AMD AthlonMP 2200's
Asus A7M266 mobo
1GB DDR RAM
GeForce 3Ti 200(64MB)
80GB HD
DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Antec server tower(metallic grey) with side intake fan.
Logitech Optical mouse
Microsoft ergonomic keyboard
12x9 digital artist's pad
Maya 4.0


Runs Maya like a dream
__________________
My rig:
Asus mobo
Dual Athlon 2200MP
1GB ECC RAM
80GB HD
ATI FireGL 8800
Maya 4.5
Cikala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2002, 02:07 AM   #14
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Am I the only Mac user in here...

Primary system:
Powerbook G4/800 Mhz
1 GB ram
60 GB hard drive
32 MB Radeon 7500 Mobility
Combo DVD-R/CD-RW drive
22" Apple Cinema Display (plus the Powerbook 15.2" display)
Apple Pro keyboard
Logitech MX700 wireless optical mouse
Wacom Intuos 6x8 tablet

Secondary system:
Dell Dimension 4100
1 GHz Pentium III
512 MB ram
40 GB drive
DVD-R (1st bay)
CD-RW (2nd bay)
2 19" Lacie electron2blue monitors
32 MB GeForce 2 Ultra (primary video card)
16 MB TNT2 M64 (secondary video card)
Dell keyboard
Logitech Mouseman wireless optical mouse

Both systems run Maya 4.5 beautifully. I spend more time working on my Powerbook though, since I use that for teaching as well as my video/animation work. I'd rate my complete setup as a 9.5/10. I can always use faster hardware.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2002, 02:41 AM   #15
Cikala
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd love to get a mac, but I don't have the cash :p
__________________
My rig:
Asus mobo
Dual Athlon 2200MP
1GB ECC RAM
80GB HD
ATI FireGL 8800
Maya 4.5
Cikala is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.