Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 19-11-2003, 06:11 PM   #46
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ive had maxtor for almost 2 years on my main computer and ive had it sometimes running for weeks without turning it crashing. I think maxtor is pretty good..but i think it all depends on your setup..i also defragment daily so I guess that helps my drive? im not sure
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2003, 09:22 PM   #47
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by orgeeizm
Ive had maxtor for almost 2 years on my main computer and ive had it sometimes running for weeks without turning it crashing. I think maxtor is pretty good..but i think it all depends on your setup..i also defragment daily so I guess that helps my drive? im not sure
first of all.. I dont trust anybody

I still have my 6 year old Maxtor rock solid and still working... on the other hand, 2 months ago I bought an 80Gig Maxtor and it didnt even last the 2 months...

I've had 3 HDDs die on me and let me tell you..the feeling is not good

and about the defragmenting, it doesnt help it as much as it keeps it running fast

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2003, 09:26 PM   #48
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Emo my 20 gig just died on me and that was a 4 year old drive. my 40 and 60 where not even a year put together.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2003, 07:26 AM   #49
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Emo, like i said its different for people..defragmenting helps my win file system stay alive and i notice it through the "sounds" my harddrive makes when it accesses lots of files...

anyway, that same HD of mine crashed february earlier this year and i lost my work since i got it. still dont know the reason why it did. all i know is that windows froze up when i was booting it. and when i booted back, everything was corrupted, partitions were gone
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2003, 03:10 AM   #50
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As long as we're creeping away from the original topic...

If you had unlimitied cash, you could use one of those new 64 bit or whatever processors and have 8 gigs of ram, about 6 GHz of processing power (dual 3GHz) and like a 600 GB harddrive... drool...

EDIT: oh, and not to mention an NVidia Quadro FX 3000... :bow:
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2003, 11:01 AM   #51
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

carrot juice: If you had unlimited cash and that's all you can come up with, then you think too small.

Emo: defragmenting your HD definitley helps it work faster. While it's not a major factor, it does reduce the seek time the head requires to find parts of files that have been "fragmented". If you have never defragged. I would strongly suggest you do.

My setup's ok. I could use a better graphics card, but other than that, works fine for me.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu

Last edited by dave_baer : 21-11-2003 at 11:04 AM.
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2003, 04:46 PM   #52
parttimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a Dell Dimension 8200, which came with a 60Gb maxtor drive. After I had the machine for 13 months I started it up one day to get a message along the lines of - 'Dell monitoring reports that HD 1 is operating outside of normal specifications. Backup all your data and call Dell support immediatly ...' I called Dell and they said it needed replacing, and that the warranty ran out after the first year.

I bought a new HD and installed it, but kept the maxtor as a second HD. I still get the same error message about half the time when booting, but the drive still works fine, I just don't keep anything important on it. Sometimes I do wonder tho, how odd the error message started just 3 weeks after the Dell waranty ended!

Re tech specs -

Dell Dimension with P4 2.4ghz
1 Gig rambus ram
80 Gig Western Digital drive with 8Mb buffer (works great)
60 Maxtor HD
Sapphire Radion 9600 Pro 128 Mb
19 Inch Dell monitor (trinitron)
Logitech MX 700 optical mouse

I have only been using Maya for a few weeks, but it seems smooth so far.
parttimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 09:03 AM   #53
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

After Dell gets there order they check the warranty yoo bought. It goes like this-

1year warranty - They drop the drive 10 times on concrete floor before putting it in the machine.

3year warranty- They drop it once on carpeted floor :-)
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2003, 07:31 PM   #54
MainlineX
Registered User
 
MainlineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pentium III 800( Actually a PIII 600, but overclocked with Huge Fan)
392mg RAM
20GB HD
Nvidia Gforce 4MX 64mg
SoundBlaster Live!
Win 2000 pro
Maya 5.0.1

It does it's job but it certainly lacks on the speed side but hey will be upgrading soon, then this will be used for rendering and a linux firewall.
__________________

-------------------------------------------
MainlineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 10:35 AM   #55
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

PIII are still solid.

Dual PIII 1.0 ghz
80 gig HD
Quadro 750xgl
1.5 gig Ram
RH linux 9
WinXP pro SP1
19" monitor
maya 4.0
and the usual suspects... PS, combustion,Wings3d, QT, etc...
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 04:55 PM   #56
Joker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

2600 amd XP+
80 gb fluid HDD
Geeforce 4200 TI
512 kingston DDR-ram (want 1 gb, and is saving for it)
Logitech iTouch keyboard
Microsoft intellymouse 3.0 + Icemat (LOVE those, they are perfekt for precise animating)

and it works like wee for me.
Joker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2004, 01:14 PM   #57
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Finally, the new PC is built:

P-IV 3.2GHz + Hyperthreading
ABIT IC7-Max3 Mobo
2GB (4x512MB PC3200 Samsung)
NVIDIA Quadro4 980-XGL
Dual 17" iiyama LCD monitors
2x120Gb Maxtor Diamondmax 7200rpm SATA
Windows XP-Pro (SP1)
ANTEC SX-1040 Performance II tower case with 400W ATX supply
Logitec MX-310 mouse
Cherry standard US keyboard
DVD burner

It's finally great to be able to use Maya the way it should be used.... dynamics performance and rendering times are finally where I want them to be! Now I just have to copy my files from the laptop and I can continue my projects
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 04:08 PM   #58
james_s
Subscriber
 
james_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just upgraded to:

Asus PC-DL Deluxe Mo/Bo
Dual Pentium 4 XEON 2.8Ghz CPUs
Swiftech HeatSinks and Cooling Fans
2GB RAM
3DLabs Wildcat III 6210 w / 416MB Memory
Dual 18" NEC MultiSync Flat Panel Displays
160GB Maxtor HD
Windows XP Pro
Maya 5.x

:bgreen: Now I just need to get good enough at Maya to justify the horsepower!

For video work:
Dual 1Ghz PIII
1GB RAM
DPS Reality Video Capture Card w/ 2x 100GB U/W 10KRPM SCSI
18GB U/W SCSI System HD
36GB U/W SCSI Audio HD
DPS JOG-4000 Shuttle Controller
DPS I/O Breakout Box
DPS Velocity NLE software
Eyeon DFX+ Compositing software

:bgreen:
james_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 12:36 PM   #59
PureFire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dual Xeon 2.8Ghz (533Mhz)
Iwill DPI533 mobo
1 gig DDR ECC Registered
Ati 9700pro AIW
550w Antec Truepower
WD 120Gig HDD
Sony 21" Trinitron flat screen
PureFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 07:53 AM   #60
Divideby0
Registered User
 
Divideby0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

WOW! great thread! Im in the middle of building a PC at the moment. Im still using Win98/se on a PII-366 laptop maxed out at 320MB ram!

It looks like the system requirements are about the same. So I wont be shuttig myself out of one app or the other. I'll submit once i have it built.
__________________
"Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men's blood and probably themselves will not be realized."
- Daniel Burnham, Chicago architect. (1864-1912)
Divideby0 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.