Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-02-2004, 08:43 AM   #61
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just got my new machine a couple of weeks ago:

Dell Inspiron 8600 (laptop)
1.7 GHz Pentium M
1 GB ram
60 GB 7200 rpm hard drive
15.4" WUXGA (widescreen, 1920x1200)
128 MB Mobility Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo
DVD+RW/CD-RW drive
802.11b/g
Bluetooth

In short, this little baby rocks!
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 09:15 PM   #62
killbot
Registered User
 
killbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

P4 2.53 (533fsb)
Mobo GIGabyte GA-8pE667 wtih hyper thread
768 ddr333
geforce 4 tI200 128ram 4xagp
200 gigs HD space in total
cdrw 40x dvd rom 12x
17" viewsonic profession series flat screen
logitech black elte keyboard/mx400 mouse

xp pro/maya 5/4.5

all in a thermaltake black supertower with 4 fan speed controllers and blue cothode lighting.


hmmmm.... maybe this is why i'm alway's broke. DAMN computers.....DAMN them all to hell.
__________________
i bent my wookie!
killbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2004, 04:31 AM   #63
Cyborg Corp
Registered User
 
Cyborg Corp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shanghai/Pittsburgh
Posts: 263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

P4 1.7 Gigz ----> not so high on my priorty list to upgrade soon
512 DDR Ram ------> same as above
geforce 4 MX 64 meg ---------> high priorty!
40 gig HD ------> semi high priorty
DVD Drive
52x cD Drive
48x CDRW
Just ordered a DVD writer

I plan on upgrading my video card, then proccessor, and then ram, after getting a new mobo Maybe it'll be cheaper just to sell my comp and build a new one again? When i got this comp, it was great for its time but that was before I was into 3d
__________________
MSN: cyborg_corporation@hotmail.com
AIM: RavagingOrc
ICQ: 49041947

Last edited by Cyborg Corp : 14-02-2004 at 04:33 AM.
Cyborg Corp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2004, 07:23 PM   #64
The Hogfather
Registered User
 
The Hogfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My Baby
Multivision Laptop

P4 2.8ghz
512 DDR RAM
Radeon 64mb mobile graphics
DVD RAM drive
Scored just under 10,000 in 3d mark 2001!!
Extra 17" monitor for extended desktop

Just ordered a Wacom Volito tablet.
And will upgrade to 1gig of RAM
__________________
Feel free to contact on ICQ
The Hogfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2004, 05:41 AM   #65
PrimalSniper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

P4 2.6 Gghz
512MB DDR RAM
ATI Radeon 128MB 9200 Series graphics card
DVD/Burner/CD-ROM drive
120GB HD 7200RPM
17" Samsung SyncMaster 753df monitor

Anyone have problems with the ATI Radeon 9200 Series? when i played Halo it would randomly crash and some games are laggy which shouldn't be happening. I updated the drivers too.
__________________
http://www.evolvedsearch.tk - Check it out.
PrimalSniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2004, 10:12 PM   #66
retap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Asus a7n8x mobo
1 gig corsair xms ram
Asus Geforce 4 Ti 9280
160 gig ata-100 WD 8 mg cache hd
cd burner
dvd drive
Dual 17" monitors
running windows 2K os

So far this rig is rock solid have no complaints!
retap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2004, 06:55 PM   #67
Spyd03
Registered User
 
Spyd03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

abacus
1500 red beads
__________________
...tongue tied and twisted, just an earth bound misfit, I.

http://sky.prohosting.com/spyd01/
Spyd03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2004, 07:00 PM   #68
cracker
Subscriber
 
cracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England
Posts: 168
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Amiga with the all mighty 1 meg upgrade
cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2004, 04:25 AM   #69
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

ok I built this about 6 months ago ..I am running a P4 2.8 GHz with HyperThreading on an Intel D865GBF mobo,
1024 DDR Ram and 160GB hard drive.
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra graphics card which is probably the weakest link..might upgrade this soon.
Hansol H530 [Monitor]
Creative Audigy 2 sound card
NEC DVD_RW ND-1300A
PLEXTOR CD-RW PX-W5224A
TEAC DV-516E [DVD-ROM drive]

Running Maya 5.01 and it's sweet except for the nvidia viewport problem but it's a minor annoyance.

I upgraded the vga to a Leadtek Nvida FX 5950 ultra and added some more Ram ..now got 1500mb DDR RAM
nvidia have finally sorted the viewport issue...the system rocks now
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner

Last edited by jsprogg : 03-04-2004 at 10:07 PM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 01:12 PM   #70
Hanuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Auroville, India
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just upgraded my system to:
Asus PC-DL Deluxe dual processor motherboard
two Intel Xeon 2.4 Ghz
2 GB of RAM
nVidia Quadro4 980 XGL graphics card
Matrox SATA 250 GB Hard Disk

compared to the system i was using before, this gets 10 from me
__________________
A conscious power has drawn the plan of life...
Hanuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2004, 09:55 AM   #71
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I just got a new computer 2 days ago.

I don't know that much about pc, and I wanted somthing fast, well faster then my mac G4.

So I had a friend build me a pc, and I told him I wanted a fast one! Because it take waaay to long to render on my mac.

So as far as I can see looking through my computer and stuff, this is what I have.

AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional, Version: 5.0.2195 Service Pack 4 Build 2195
System Name: SoNATA1
System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
System Model: AWRADACPI
System Type: x86-based PC
Processor: x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD ~ 16...
BIOS Version: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
NVIDIA nForce K7N2G Series. I'm not sure about what this is, a graphic card maybe?
1,048,048 KB RAM. I guess that my membery?

I really don't know what the hell any of this stuff means! But I can tell you this, this pc is waaaaayyyy better then my mac! Rendering rocks!
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2004, 11:50 PM   #72
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok now I know what I have now,

It an Athalon 2800 xp 32 bit processor,
Radeon 9200 series graphic card
1G of ram
ViewSonic G790 19" monitor

I give this computer a "10" compare to the mac G4, rendering is very fast!
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2004, 06:20 AM   #73
magget78
Subscriber
 
magget78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a AMD dual processor Opteron 242,
1 gig ram,
80 gig hd,
Nvidia Quadro 1000 FX video card,
17inch lcd screen,
4x pioneer dvd burner

I would say this is the ultimate system. Not the best but wayyyy up their, just ran outta money!

Maya runs like a charm..

RROOOOOOM RRROOOOOOM RRRROOOOOOM.........
magget78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2004, 02:52 AM   #74
MainlineX
Registered User
 
MainlineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by MainlineX
Pentium III 800( Actually a PIII 600, but overclocked with Huge Fan)
392mg RAM
20GB HD
Nvidia Gforce 4MX 64mg
SoundBlaster Live!
Win 2000 pro
Maya 5.0.1

It does it's job but it certainly lacks on the speed side but hey will be upgrading soon, then this will be used for rendering and a linux firewall.
Well I have finally upgraded to a certain degree that is...
I now have...
PIV-2.8 800FSB with HT
512 DDR 400 RAM
ASUS Muthabrd.

The rest of the other specs are the same. When i get a bit more cash i will continue to upgrade.
MainlineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2004, 12:55 PM   #75
AspectSEQLD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm.

P4 3.0 (800fsb)
Asus P4P800 dlx mobo
160GB SATA
2 GB Corsair TwinX DDR 400
Asus 256MB nVidia fx5950

its not bad, but it has issues with z-buffer, which is REALLY annoying, because my older machine with a Geforce4 card doesnt have the problem GRRRRRR

but for rendering, it screams... so word-up

lol
AspectSEQLD is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.