Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 31-05-2004, 11:15 AM   #106
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by dave_baer
Ok. I think some of you are embellishing the facts. :p
Lets see some photos of these super beast, shall we?
my Pleasure
Attached Thumbnails
 
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 03:00 PM   #107
markemark
Lifetime Member
 
markemark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That looks very cool but is it very loud?

Mark
markemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2004, 09:10 PM   #108
IAmThaGuvNa
Registered User
 
IAmThaGuvNa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Intel P4
1.5 Ghz (sad i know)
Kickin mother board
HP Moniter
XP Pro
512 MB RAM
Radeon 9600 256 (I think)

Itd be a lot nicer if i got a... say 2.5 Ghz P4... Radeon 9800 256... a new moniter... and a new case... this case sucks its like ghetto. funny how i have a pretty good set up inside this little tiny Stinky machine

Last edited by IAmThaGuvNa : 31-05-2004 at 09:16 PM.
IAmThaGuvNa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 11:53 AM   #109
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by markemark
That looks very cool but is it very loud?

Mark
heh... with 11 fans, I think so

but mostly the loud part is the CPU fans that are rated 48dB each at peak 5500RPMs.....

Now I have them plugged in the PSU where it sasys "fan only" and that cuts the voltage in half so they are running twice as quiet at 3000 something RPM and it's not that much of a problem....

Before I could hear the PC from the kitchen on the other side of the house

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 07:24 PM   #110
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Damn thats a beauty Emo!
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 08:22 PM   #111
AbsolutelyWhite
Subscriber
 
AbsolutelyWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greece - Chalkida
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay...
AMD ATHLON XP 2800+
512mb 333Mhz
Ati Radeon 9600 pro 128mb
SB live 5.1
TFT/LCD Philips 15"
120Gb HD MAXTOR
40GB HD MAXTOR
40GB HD MAXTOR
DVD-ROM PLEXTOR
DVD-RW Toshiba
CD-RW TEAC
__________________
Ioannis KarAvas
AbsolutelyWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 11:54 AM   #112
Forum_snowboarder33
Registered User
 
Forum_snowboarder33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Add another mac to the list : )

Apple Dual 2.0Ghz G5
1.5gb of DDR 3200 Ram (going to 4 or 8 soon )
Ati 9600 Pro
160Gb SATA HD
DVD Burner
LG 19" CRT Monitor Running at 1600*1200
Logitech MX Duo
Klipsch Promedia 4.1 (gotta listen to music when using maya)
and some blue LED's inside the case...

THinking about buying another LG monitor and running dual Monitors as well since i can get them cheap.
__________________
-- Why is it snowing rain --
AIM: SnowboarderCF
Forum_snowboarder33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:37 PM   #113
arikanoa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default My Rig

Pentium 4 EE 3.2Ghz
2GB 400MHZ DDR PC3200
250GB SATA Hitachi
Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
Creative Audigy 2

Maya 6 Unlimited
Photoshop CS

Really only missing two 21+ inch LCD monitors. My old Compaq P1100 still doing fine I guess, but would like to get a pair of Samsung 24's, so damm expensive though.

http://samsung.com/Products/Monitor/...nLCD_241MP.htm
arikanoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 08:53 AM   #114
hanzi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: new york
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

dual xeon 3 ghz
2 gb ram (rambus)
geforce fx 5900 XT
36 gb raptor hdd (sata, 10.000upm)
gentoo linux with 2.6.6 kernel

i have got a 20,1" LG TFT with 1600x1200 px

Works perfecty for me until i render something..
Even on my system this can take a huge amount of time..
hanzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 05:33 PM   #115
Reimo005
Registered User
 
Reimo005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: (EST) Estonia
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AMD 1700+
Gerforce MX 420 64MB
Seagate 60GB 7200rpm hdd
256 DDR ram
SAMSUNG Syncmaster 755DFX

rendering is slow but works ok.
__________________
Noo0ooB... beginner... novice... newby... I'am new ! ! !

VERY BAD ENGLISH !
Reimo005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 04:53 PM   #116
tezza
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a pentium 2.8ghz with
1 gig ram
120gig hard drive
17" IBM monitor
optical wheel mouse
on board video card ATI 9200
running maya 6 feels slow i dont know if its the on board video card?
tezza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2004, 07:49 PM   #117
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

AthlonXP2000 on ASUS A7N8X-X
512mb ram PC2100, Maxtor 80gb w/ 8mb cache
19" Sun CRT, Logitech MX700 Mouse, GeforceFX5200, SB Live!
Slackware Linux 10, Kernel 2.6.8.1
Maya Unlimited 6.01

My system runs pretty fast and stable for me, but i'll need to upgrade so I can render stuff faster.
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 01:48 AM   #118
mclimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Twin 3.06 Xeons
2 Gigs Registered Samsung Ram
3D Labs WildCat 512 MB Video Card
Hercules Game Theater Sound Card
0.5 Terabytes of Hard Drive
(that sounds cooler than 500 gigs.)
Floppy Disk Drive - this makes it go faster
20 inch Dell Flat Panel Monitor
mclimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2004, 04:57 PM   #119
13uRneR
Subscriber
 
13uRneR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you may all get a good laugh, but here goes...


Pentium 4----- 1.8 Ghz (gonna clock soon...)
512 megs of DDR2
Atlantis 256 (built on radeon 9200 se chipset, overclocked)
built in sound... when do i need more? (will be getting AC3 compatible soooon)
Hard drive, as big as i want, got 10 pc's networked at my bro's house.... its a lot
CDR/RW burner 52 times burn and read
17" very nice quality,, but then again I usually use my big screen TV as a monitor (one of them is 56" :p )
3 fans, one glows in the front


note: the DDR2, I picked this up in Portugal, it has a sweet transfer rate, almost quadruple transfer rate of DDR

Ill put up a pic soon as I get my digital cam, should be tomorow... but then again Im in the capital of Canada and dont get home for another week


edit: forgot to mention I can have a cluster of 200 pc's from a college render my stuff with Muster , I like my bro's vast knoledge
__________________
Pretzels and Beer
Pizza Pockets and Computer programers
Shortcuts and 3D artists

May we always be together.

Last edited by 13uRneR : 31-10-2004 at 05:00 PM.
13uRneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2006, 11:25 PM   #120
vedic kings
Registered User
 
vedic kings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: florence OR, USA
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow, old thread!

I just got a new computer, and wanted to share

XPS 400, PD, 820 (2.8GHZ), VIIV
2GB DDR2 SDRAM AT 533MHZ-4X512GB
17IN (17.0 IN) 1707FPC,DIM,P
Radeon X1600 Pro 512 MB PCIe Graphics Ca
80GB SERIAL ATA,7200 RPM,DIM,P

Its nice for rendering!
__________________
I am creating an illusion.

Homepage http://www.freewebs.com/vedickings/index.htm

Challenge WIP http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=17391
vedic kings is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.