Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-02-2007, 01:13 PM   #1
Codar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default image plane lag

i'm using Maya 6.0
I'm running
AMD 2800
1GB RAM
ATI 9600


When I use image planes, the front and right side views lag like mad. Perspective works fine, no lag at all. I'm cut the alpha channel, which helped, but only succeeded in upgrading my lag from unbearable to annoying. The image sizes are 60-62 kb. I can't find the problem. (Yes, i've ugraded my vid. drivers). If anyone knows what to do, please help!
Codar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2007, 04:58 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have you got "fast interaction" turned on? that sometimes blurrs the it (dont know the specs of yours) can really slow down. Ifso turn it off and give that a go.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 05:38 AM   #3
Codar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

fast interaction is turned off. I tried turning it on to see, and yeah I got some really bad blurring. Any other Ideas? I'm pretty much unable to model rigth now because of this.


I tried updating my vid. drivers. That didn't change anything either
Codar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 10:44 AM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In Catalyst, do you have your Anti Aliasing or texture quality settings maxed out on the manual override sliders? If you do, try setting them to a lower quality setting or select the 'let the application decide' option. It may improve your performance.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2007, 05:35 PM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

ctl + alt + del see how many process u have watch how memory maya use and CPU ... and if u have lets say i have normal about 27-29 .. 30 max ... if u have 40 + u have some viruses but im not sure .... if nothing helps u try reinstall Maya and if doesn't help reinstall your OS ... i don't see any other problems ( im not maya gosu or smth ) but thats my point of view
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2007, 03:10 AM   #6
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ColdWave > 'ctl + alt + del see how many process u have watch how memory maya use and CPU ... and if u have lets say i have normal about 27-29 .. 30 max ... if u have 40 + u have some viruses but im not sure ....'

Nah, its normal for any computer to hit 100 on CPU usage, it just depends on what your doing and how long its hitting 100 for. If its for too long, you may want a new computer.
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2007, 08:15 AM   #7
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

oh no he was talking about the number of processes running at once... not the percentage of processor being used.
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2007, 01:55 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

yeah i was talking about the Processes : ... and the Mem usage coz ... i have long ago some viruses that takes me smth like 512 ram and bug all my pc ... some spam things and etc .... it's compicated to say exactly whats the problem ... i think thats could be a reason
__________________
Life is all about friends, people and art with a lot of beer ^_^

Current Animator & Artist @ SToch Games

Previous work 3D artist/Animator @ :
www.xs-software.com
www.adasport.com

For cool tips&tricks follow me @ :

http://iyosifovblog.blogspot.com/
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2007, 06:09 AM   #9
Codar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

my CPU is only maxed out when I'm trying to dolly around the view. Other than that i'm fine. I'm not using any of the paging file, so RAM isn't the isue either.

I found a solution, though. I duplicate the front and side view. Put the image planes on those views, but work through the original ones. Works fine with no lag, so it's probably not my computer causing this.
Codar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
New Feature: Multiple Image Upload David Members Lounge 0 30-11-2010 09:40 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.