Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-07-2007, 09:05 PM   #136
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok i tried what you have said, i imported the basemesh in z-brush then stored this as a morph target.
Then i went a couple of subdivisions higher and added some detail then i went to tool=> displacement and made a displacementmap, but nothing happens and if something did happen i can't find the displacementmap.
I try to make a displacementfile in mudbox yesterday also but this gave a very strange picture.
The picture below shows how far i am with the details and for a z-brush firsttime i kinda like it.
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 09:55 PM   #137
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have a look on Zbrush central for creating displacement maps.

YOur attempting to creat a displaclemet from the hightest level, hence why its not doing anything
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 10:47 PM   #138
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Yes i figured that one out :headbang: , thanks gster.
Now when i make de map in z brush he only creates half the model which measures 1024*1024, while i want it to be the entire thing is there a setting in z brush which enables this?
Now i've duplicated and mirrored the map and attached them to make a whole .
I've added this file as abump, but it isn't looking the way i want it to nor does it resemble the z-brush sculpting very accurately, how come?
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 11:24 PM   #139
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Whats your uv layout like?

It looks to me either that the maps too small of the UV's are a bit messed up.

Also what are you rendering with as you might have to adjust some settings to get a better look, i.e if your rendering with software then up the tessalation
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 11:39 PM   #140
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I rendered with mental ray at production-quality.
I've attached an image of the uvsnapshot/-layout
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2007, 11:43 PM   #141
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

To get it to render with mental ray theres a few things you need to do to get the best out of it.

Have a look at this

http://www.scottspencer.com/images/...orial_large.zip

Think its the video of how to render maps, got it off Zbrush Central
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 03:30 AM   #142
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Yes i had seen the same video on youtube.
But thanks for the link nonetheless .
But the thing is the guy from the tutorial has a complete map with both sides, when i make a displacementmap in zbrush it only makes half of it and does it so in square setting(512*512,1024*1024 etc.), so the displacementmap doesn't match the uv layout, so is there something you must turn on or off in the settings in order to get a full map?
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 04:56 AM   #143
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

OK, since i didn't know anymore what buttons i pushed yesterday i decided to zbrush the damn thing all over again and now it went without any troubles .
But as you can probably see in the image(see below), the wrinkles are still to wide and the brush is at his minimum(i have the same problem within photoshop, but i made a 1024*1024 snapshot so....); if i would scale up the model in zbrush and paint in the wrinkles and when i'm done scale it back down again, does this help?(i've got the idea that the software doesn't recognize a brush smaller than 1 and will scale it up again).
I also saw in the displacementsettings a thing called subpixols(i initially turned this to the maximum but this would take 30 minutes to generate the map)would this be of help in the quality of the map?
Or must i split up the model(uv's) and lay out the major parts and lay them out seperately, thus making a couple of 1024*1024 maps?
thanks in advance guys
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:15 AM   #144
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok guys i've been making some progress within zbrush, and i've decided to make a 2048*2048 uvsnapshot, hoping to get better results/detail, i've also amped the subpixels-value in z brush to about 2.
And i like the result, the only thing i'm not liking is that when i import the displacementmap it seems to come with his own additional bump-map, because of some minor pixelcolor-variations.
So if anyone knows how to avoid this it will be much appreciated over here
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:24 AM   #145
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

And the details i sculpted in zbrush, there not topnotch(especially compared to others on this and other fora), but considering that i've only been doing this for a day or so, i'm ok with it
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:29 PM   #146
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I imported a fulldetail OBJ.file from zbrush to maya,which contained over 1 miljon polygons, just to see if it would work, and it did .
Maya went a bit slow after that:p , but it managed.
i've made some quick eyes(I imported the obj into a new scene).

I still seem to have a problem with the displacementmap function from zbrush to photoshop.
I seem to be getting an additional bump because of some colorvariation on the background color.
I've tried setting the dpi of the photoshop image from 75 to 300, turned off colormanagement, set the image back to 8 bit and set it from greyscale to rgb.
So if anyone knows what's going on here, his or her input would be much appreciated here
Attached Thumbnails
 
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 02:16 PM   #147
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Good luck trying to rig and animate with that!

Why dont you use the Multidisplacement in Zbrush 2, or have you just bought Zbrush 3? Theres also an update for Zbrush 3 that might help you out as it says something about displacement maps in the press release.

I personally think its die to the head being quite small in the UV space, therefore a 2048 map dosent give enough definition.

Also I wouldnt mess with the maps in PS, are you exporting tiff's? If so I might be tempted to convert them to .maps for mentaL ray.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 03:23 PM   #148
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

@gster;
If i would make an 4096 *4096 snapshot would that give the detail i need or must i go even higher.
And will 300 dpi be enough?

I export them as tiff's(or targa) yes, but i'm not a hero when it comes to (advanced) mental ray so i don't know what you mean by converting those to .map files nor what to do with them.

edit; I just got Z-Brush3 and somehow the displacement maps are not as defined as in zbrush2 and i will look for the update

Thanks

Last edited by mastone : 03-08-2007 at 06:53 PM.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 06:54 PM   #149
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Are you using the multi displacement mapper in Zbrush 2?

If so what code are you using to get the file that you want, is it a 32 bit tif or 16 that your exporting??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 10:37 AM   #150
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

No, i did not use multidisplacement in zbrush 2 just an ordinary displacement, i could'nt find multidisplacement in zbrush3.
I found a great walkthrough/tutorial on multidisplacement but it was for brush2.
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.