Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2007, 04:59 AM   #1
Chuffy
Subscriber
 
Chuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambs, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering? How do I get a clean clear untextured render?

How do I get create a render that looks like this?



or this...



or this...



Most of my renders look like this...



I would like to get the clean bright white look. Is it possible without setting up a complicated number of lights and material layers? I'd prefer to concentrate on the modelling as the renders will appear in a game engine so the maya renders are just previews.
Chuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 05:30 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Have a look in the Challenge forum, arrans entry, as in there theres a discussion on creating these renders (what your looking for is called ambiant occlusion renders).

Not too sure what page it is so you might have to go through the thread, theres a few ways to get the render tol ook like that.

Hope it helps
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 06:57 AM   #3
Chuffy
Subscriber
 
Chuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambs, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by gster123
Have a look in the Challenge forum, arrans entry, as in there theres a discussion on creating these renders (what your looking for is called ambiant occlusion renders).
Thanks! :attn: After a bit of searching and and admiring the quality of the renders in the challenge forum I found the details you meant.

Details start about 1 third down the page--> http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...n&pagenumber=7
Chuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 01:37 PM   #4
Chuffy
Subscriber
 
Chuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambs, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

:headbang: After trying both methods suggested and getting to the stage where I felt like banging my head against my keyboard I stopped. 2+ hours wasted.

Can somebody give a clear concise guide to setting up Occlusion renders please? Preferably with pictures on what to click and where.
Chuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 02:13 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey chuffy - what exactly are you having problems with? Did you try increasing the max distance? Also what version of maya are you using?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 03:37 PM   #6
Chuffy
Subscriber
 
Chuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambs, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Using version 8.0 and the max distance thing, no I didn't. But then I even without altering that it would have changed the appearance a little wouldn't it?

Maya's in-built help isn't that great. I'll have a look through the mountain of Maya books I own including the 2 by the Maya mountain himself :bow:

If someone could show a step by step > Create a simply Poly sphere > apply whatever is necessary for the Occlusion layer > Show the render setting > Result. I'd greatly appreciate it.

It seems a little odd that Maya's standard preview render is so dark as to be practically useless. For me anyway

I'll stick to poly modeling for now. As I said before rendering my work in Maya is pretty much irrelevant, just nice to show my crew what I'm working on.
Chuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 06:20 PM   #7
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I don't read the help files as much as I should, but I still think they are pretty good.

I'm at work so I can't post any pictures, but that shouldn't be a problem.

Ok, first open up your hypershade and create a new lambert material - windows>rendering editors>hypershade. Now select all of your objects in your scene, back click on the lambert and pick assign material to selection. Now back click on your model, scroll down to materials and pick material attributes. there are two tabs at the top. select the one that says lambert_SG. open up the mental ray tab and under custom shaders click the map button next to the material shader. Another window will open up. select the mental ray tab at the top and scroll down to the textures section and pick mib_amb-occlusion. the attribute editor for the mib_amb_occlusion will open up. Try increasing the samples to something like 256. You may also need to increase the max distance, though some people told me that you don't need to touch this, though I couldn't get it to work until I made this number relative to the size of my scene.

Ok, last you need to select mental ray as your renderer. Just open up the render settings window (it's the button to the right of the IPR button at the top) and select mental ray. Now try rendering.

as easy as.... x y z.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog

Last edited by arran : 12-03-2007 at 11:47 PM.
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:00 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Spot on Arran

One thing to remember is that ifthe render somes out "blotchey" then increase the number of samples in the ambient occlusion node that you created.

The standard preview render, I think is not really for doing much, it only contains the standard default light and the lambert shader, its more for when you strat to add textures and lights so that you can see whats what so to speak.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2007, 09:48 PM   #9
Chuffy
Subscriber
 
Chuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambs, UK
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cheers

Only just now got time from my 2 other jobs to actually switch on my computer and try out the render method...



... and it worked! Cheers!

easy as A > B > C > Edit B > Change the attributes of C > change the value of A to Q > etc > etc
Chuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 12:12 AM   #10
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

ha ha - glad it helped mate - well done.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2007, 07:08 AM   #11
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cheers man! Glad I could be of help!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.