Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2007, 11:14 AM   #1
bryanmason76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West MI
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Real World Measure units to Maya units

I was wondering what the real world equivilant to the grid in Maya is depending on the given zoom layer (It doesnt matter which layer).

I just want to know where to start when I want to make a room 20' x 20' How does that translate into the Maya unit of measure. Are those inches, cm, Can they be changed? Should they not be changed for the sake of continuity?
__________________
Murder is only an extroverted suicide.
bryanmason76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:18 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

go to windows/settings preferences/preferences/settings and you can set the grid unit to represent what you want (cm,meters,feet inches ect).

It is then your choice what scale you make the model but there is no problem making a model 1:1 even if its 200ft x 100ft

Last edited by jsprogg : 12-03-2007 at 11:22 AM.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 07:33 AM   #3
naveenraghul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bryanmason76 View Post
I was wondering what the real world equivilant to the grid in Maya is depending on the given zoom layer (It doesnt matter which layer).

I just want to know where to start when I want to make a room 20' x 20' How does that translate into the Maya unit of measure. Are those inches, cm, Can they be changed? Should they not be changed for the sake of continuity?
You can work in real world measurements using the grids.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF1sEN9B1CA
This will explain it.
naveenraghul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 01:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 11:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 11:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.