Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 15-03-2007, 07:34 AM   #1
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Unhappy what is "mayaRenderLog"

3 questions really

1) what is mayaRenderLog
(found under mydoc\maya\7)

2) why is it almost 3.7 gigs

3) is it safe to delete - i.e not going to mess up maya

grind my computer to a hault when trying to open the thing

I only noticed it because just update to vista (dual boot until I`m sure everythings work) and was copying my settings over and it was taking forever.
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 08:04 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

The mayaRenderLog.txt file contains rendering statistics for advanced users.

I doubt it can be 3 gigs in size though since it's only a text file, mines about 300kb
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 09:13 AM   #3
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg

I doubt it can be 3 gigs in size though since it's only a text file, mines about 300kb
wanna bet
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 10:24 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Tweety that is incredible..

Have you been doing a million batch renders ? lol

I cannot even imagine how much text is required to make a 3 gig txt file.

Whether you can delete it or not I am not sure although I can't see it being needed for maya to operate as it's simply a log file of a render job.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 11:12 AM   #5
Sgart
Registered User
 
Sgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just backup the file, place it somewhere you can find it. Delete the real file, and check if maya works or not ?
Sgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 02:35 PM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Pretty sure ive deleted it in the past when it got too big, Maya just makes a new one in the same place next time you render.

Move it to another folder and then renderand see if another one pops up in the maya folder
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 03:20 PM   #7
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

If you don't use the information, there's no worries in deleting it. Maya will make a new render log file when you next render something.

3+Gig, man that's some amount of rendering!!

Take it easy,

Mat.
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 06:16 PM   #8
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,419
Thanks: 62
Thanked 159 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Yer well its gone now and everything is still working.
and yes a new one came back.

I have no idea why the file was so big, but then I do tend to render a lot of wip.


Is there any way of turning it off
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2007, 05:33 AM   #9
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yes, it is safe to delete the file if you don't need the info yourself as it has been already mentioned.

You can't turn it off but you could set up a scheduled task for deleting it periodically. How this is done depends on your OS. In my Fedora Core 6 Linux I've put a simple delete script under /etc/cron.weekly/ which cleans up all kinds of stuff including the render log. If you're on windows you can use the task scheduler or whatever it's called (can't remember).
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.