Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-12-2002, 02:00 AM   #1
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default IRC Mods needed.

Most of you probably don’t know this but we do have our own IRCd set up and running, what we need is a couple of people that want to moderate our IRC chans we will make you IRC operators, you will need to help people register keep an eye on the chanservs etc etc

PM me if you fancy giving it a shot, you will need to have some knowledge of IRC and want to get people in there and chatting.

David
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 06:34 AM   #2
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

... i never tried IRC... i will try it today though... let me see... and what does and IRC mod do?
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 02:36 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

In a nutshell, a mod moderates the irc channel....makes sure no one tries to take over the channel with bot scripts, kicks out any troublemakers, sets various channel modes and user privileges (OPs), etc. etc. You have to know a bit about how IRC works (or you should at least) with regards to packets and how people can take over the channel and bots.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 11-12-2002 at 02:40 PM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 02:53 PM   #4
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

you mean that i should be there on the channel 24/7.... i dont think i will be able to do that..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 03:06 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

That's why they want more than one person. Most of the time you don't have much to do so you can just have irc going in the background while you go about your work or whatever. But, you still need to have a good understanding as to how things work for when things go wrong or people attempt channel takeovers. A lot of channels use bots to automate things but like anything else, people like to hack them so you still need to know your stuff. I briefly thought that I could possibly do it while at work but while I've been an Op in the past, it's a far cry from being a mod....and honestly I'm not really into it anymore...sucks up too much of my time...time better spent working on design skills or what-have-you.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 11-12-2002 at 03:15 PM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:37 PM   #6
dpvtank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have been an op for the irc chat room for brokensaints.com (a huge creepy epic tale bought to life)

anyway..
i am gonna do some research..
what u most likely have to do is go to a server (example DALnet or IRC)
and just start a server..
thats right..just type in
/join #ur_server_name
that automatically creates a room..

however, i think we can most likely get our own irc thingy..
like irc.simplymaya.co.uk

usually, ur host does that....try contacting the host for this site..
because most of the chats i have been to, are being hosted by their hosts...

so..yeah
:p

hope that was evena bit helpfull
dpvtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:50 PM   #7
Oculus
Subscriber
 
Oculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would like to help out. I am familiar with IRC, but have never been a mod before. Someone would have to kinda show me the basics. =|
__________________
- Chris L. Harkins -
Oculus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 12:05 AM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

DPV,

You don't even have to do that. If you look at the site's nav buttons in the upper right of the page, you can just click the "chat" button which brings up a jIRC applet, which in turn allows you to chat on SM's IRC channel right from your browser. Of course, if you want to use your own IRC client, such as mIRC, you'd have to get all the channel information.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 01:44 AM   #9
dpvtank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so...um...what is it?
dpvtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 01:47 AM   #10
dpvtank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

n.m
got it

:p
dpvtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 04:09 AM   #11
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 49
Thanked 385 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Originally posted by dpvtank
i have been an op for the irc chat room for brokensaints.com (a huge creepy epic tale bought to life)

anyway..
i am gonna do some research..
what u most likely have to do is go to a server (example DALnet or IRC)
and just start a server..
thats right..just type in
/join #ur_server_name
that automatically creates a room..

however, i think we can most likely get our own irc thingy..
like irc.simplymaya.co.uk

usually, ur host does that....try contacting the host for this site..
because most of the chats i have been to, are being hosted by their hosts...

so..yeah
:p

hope that was evena bit helpfull
irc.simplymaya.com is running we run our IRCd
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 12:10 PM   #12
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

i no this has nothing to do with this IRC mumbojumbo but is the chat thing working ?
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 12:53 PM   #13
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is now!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:01 PM   #14
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

ok... so how do i get to the chatroom???... sorry... need info from installing the APP!!!! :p
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 05:03 PM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Already said this but click the chat button in the upper right navigation then accept the jIRC applet when it asks you to. Type in a user name and hit connect.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.